We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Cosmic Cafe

Sophie's Cosmic Cafe
2095 W 4th Ave., Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 1N3, Canada (Kitsilano)
(604) 732-6810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 2,845 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fab little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was on vacation & a friend recommended Sophie's for breakfast. If you're passing by, you must go in! Sophie's is a fab little treat on the corner of Vine & you won't be disappointed. Great staff, great food & their pancakes are to die for! Amazing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A Solid Breakfast ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I got the Light Breakfast and it was exactly what I wanted. Two poached eggs, bacon, gluten free bread and the best fruit plate I've seen. You can tell they keep their food fresh and their staff happy.

Very much an enjoyable breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Worth a Detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a wonderful meal here my last day in Vancouver. As far as I can tell, this restaurant is sort of on the way from downtown Vancouver to the airport. It is well worth a detour, regardless! The service is efficient and friendly. The food is delicious. I appreciated the fact that both the breakfast menu and the lunch menu were available at 10:15. Not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Would you like a side of love with your coffee? Go to Sophie's.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

During a weekend trip to Vancouver, I was enjoying my own coffee at Sophie's when a kind woman who was older than the rest of the wait staff brought a fresh pot for refills. "Is that Sophie?" I asked my waitress, and she confirmed. Then Sophie approached the table behind my son, who was greatly enjoying his pancakes, That table hosted five kids ranging in ages from kindergarten to elementary school. "Would you like some coffee?" Sophie smiled and asked the kids. "YUCK!" "GROSS!" "I HATE COFFEE" were the responses. Sophie smiled and responded, "You haven't been shown how to drink coffee correctly. I'll be right back."

The kids' parents, at a neighboring table, started to pay attention when Sophie returned with five mugs, a large bowl of half-and-half and another large bowl of sugar packets. She showed the kids how to fill each mug with four containers of half-and-half and about the same amount of sugar. Then she filled the remainders of the mugs with coffee. "Stir!" she coached. The parents did not intervene despite the prospect of caffeinated children on sugar rushes - I guess the parents' breakfasts were that good. "DELICIOUS!" "THIS IS GREAT!" "I LIKE COFFEE!" the kids told Sophie.

The caffeinated kids did not keep me from enjoying the delicious eggs benedict with salmon. In fact, the entertainment the Sophie provided that morning with my breakfast made this one of the best meals ever. Those kids will never forget when they first enjoyed coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Three of us went here for lunch and all had beautiful meals. The place is very cluttered and retro, the menu is a little different , but appeared to cater for vegetarian and gluten free. The meal size was generous, the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The place was very busy. The toilets were a little cramped and the one I used didn't lock.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cosmic Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sophie's Cosmic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's Cosmic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.