We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, interesting surroundings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Cosmic Cafe

Sophie's Cosmic Cafe
2095 W 4th Ave., Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 1N3, Canada (Kitsilano)
(604) 732-6810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 2,928 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Three of us went here for lunch and all had beautiful meals. The place is very cluttered and retro, the menu is a little different , but appeared to cater for vegetarian and gluten free. The meal size was generous, the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The place was very busy. The toilets were a little cramped and the one I used didn't lock.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    58
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“American diner ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is quite a popular cafe with the locals.
It's interior is very funky with all sorts all over the walls and ceiling.
The menu is quite decent with many options including vegetarians ones.
Service is pretty good.
The food itself.. The portions are giants, sometime it's a little too overwhelming but you certainly get your money's worth.
Food isn't top notch quality but it is still nice. I have been many times and will continue to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I went there with my sister which was visiting from Panama, we really enjoyed our breakfast... 100% recommended!.... Very nice people attending and very tasty food...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful diner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food in this place is HUGE and seriously tasty. I had a burger and fries and it was delicious - seriously good quality burger meat and delicious fries. I thought it was pretty good value, plus you get to sit surrounded by crazy decor and fascinating artwork. Well worth a visit - really good food and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great cafe, right on the corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had some business in the area and stopped in for breakfast with a part of 5. Seated right away by very friendly wait staff. Breakfast was a diverse menu of standard fare of eggs, bacon, a couple of different options as well. I would suggest trying one of their specialties, if they are not on the menu, ask. Definitely worth a stop if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cosmic Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sophie's Cosmic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's Cosmic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.