We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese owned Sushi and Korean BBQ restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shabusen Yakiniku House

Shabusen Yakiniku House
755 Burrard Street | Unit 202, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-3883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #731 of 2,809 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Barbecue, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chinese owned Sushi and Korean BBQ restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

FYI - this restaurant appears to be a chinese owned restaurant. I thought it was going to be korean owned. I am sharing this info because it may matter to somebody. I was seated at the bar. I always try a Chirashi don at a new restaurant if they have one. Their Chirashi don was not bad. It had lots of pieces of fish, eggs, octopus, etc. I was enjoying my food and asked the sushi chef to give me more pickled gingers. When I sit at the sushi bars, I ask sushi chefs for picked gingers all the time and they give it to me right away. It was different this time. He heard me and he said something in Chinse to his other chef. He was putting the rice away and his hands were all sticky so I thought he was going to give it to me later when he is able. He started to make sushi and seemed he forgot about my request. Maybe he didn't understand English.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    17
    33
    19
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Shabusen Yakiniku House on Burrard Street is a very good place to go with friends and enjoy coreen barbecue, japonese food and seafood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Shabusen! The staff were all very kind and accommodating! We had difficulty finding an all-you-can-eat Sushi place in Vancouver and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the sushi. Huge pieces of Sashimi! The KBBQ was a fun twist. Overall great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“post 21k run west coast style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

After running a 21k in the pouring rain the thought of cooking my dinner korean bbq style was enough to make me & my son cry who ran on the Seawall & False Creek with me.
But while we were bbq we had sushi & other items. So over all it turned out to be great choice to eat. The food hit the spot and both my son & I enjoyed the delicious meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese all you and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Been visiting Shabusen at least a couple of times each year for the last twelve years. I like coming here for lunch for the all you can eat and if I visit on the weekends, the Korean BBQ as well. I like variety and the quality is fairly good. Recommended, and I do repeat but only every once in a while.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shabusen Yakiniku House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Shabusen Yakiniku House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shabusen Yakiniku House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.