We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food, Terrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Thai Restaurant

Sawasdee Thai Restaurant
4250 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5V 3P9, Canada
(604) 876-4030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #381 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Food, Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

"The Most Authentic Thai Food Outside of Thailand"? Are you kidding me? We just came back from a trip to Thailand and thought that we would try this restaurant ... the Thom Kah soup was barely edible .. can't quite decide if it was too salty, too sweet, or too sour ... it was just completely overpowering and the prawns were of sub-par quality, as they were all mushy on the inside. When the waitress came back and we happened to mention that the soup was too salty/sweet, she didn't even acknowledge us. We had also ordered Pad Kee Mao not realizing that they have 2 dishes on the menu ... one with the noodles, and one without. We got the one without the noodles ... not only was it not spicy, but it was basically a can of baby corn, with a few mushy prawns and some basil leaves. We thought that we had ordered the dish with the noodles and hadn't received it yet. The waitress then told us that there were 2 dishes ... I guess it's too much to expect that they would tell us that there are 2 dishes when we were ordering ...

I've been to restaurants where the food was only ok before, but the service by the little waitress with the short hair was just terrible. She made the experience worse. She basically didn't care about any of our comments and just wanted to sell more and then for us to leave.

I would NEVER go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food and Service Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went with friends to this smaller sized restaurant on Main Street in Vancouver. The food was okay, but nothing seemed outstanding. It may be just in the items we ordered. Service was okay too, but nothing special. The atmosphere was not great that evening as there was a very large table nearby that was very loud, so was very difficult to hear each other.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sawasdee is one of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver... the service is awesome and the food is always fantastic. My husband is celiac and they are very accommodating to his needs. The staff are always willing to fit us in and get us a table even when it's very busy. We LOVE the Kang Panang chicken with coconut rice, it's amazing and the sauce is to die for. Everything on the menu is fresh and delicious... and the location really works for us as it's right on Main St (our neighbourhood)!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Restaurant. Been around for decades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff. Fresh, authentic Thai food. This place has been a family and Vancouver favorite for over 20 years. Have always only had fantastic meals here. Peanut chicken on spinach one dish we must order. Only frustration is that because it is quaint and small sometimes it is a challenge to get a table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food was good, but the price was kinda high for what they served.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee Thai Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sawasdee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.