We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch option by the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Provence Marinaside

Provence Marinaside
1177 Marinaside Crescent, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604.681.4144
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Provence Marinaside is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Davie
Transit: Stadium Skytrain
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Nice lunch option by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I think I prefer this place during lunch.Casual place serving nice seafood with great views over the water.Nice patio in warmer weather.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    70
    69
    14
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I assume dinner would be equally great but unfortunately only there for lunch (several times). Excellent view of marine, in the summer eat outside. Excellent service and wine list, many (maybe all) by the glass. Outstanding wine bar. Best oysters in Vancouver, ditto fresh bread from the oven. Great for fresh seafood and their "bites" are excellent and ample. If you haven't had fresh sablefish here is the place to sample it. Outstanding. In a three word review "Everything so Fresh" Never have had a poor meal there and always outstanding service. I would love to do dinner but so far I have not had the chance. Reservations of course.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice bistro with a lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On our recent trip to Vancouver, we returned to Provence for lunch. We like this bistro for the lovely view on the marina and its fresh and delicious fish and seafood. Even if the place was packed and busy, we had an excellent meal and impeccable service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were there last night for a nice seafood meal. We had their prix fixe menu, with the wine flight. Our waiter Walter was knowledgeable and very pleasant. He helped us decide on our choices for wine as well as main courses. we found both the bouillabaisse and the sable fish were excellent. We also had a lovely artisanal cheese plate and lemon tart for dessert, and both were excellent. The restaurant itself could use a bit more of an intimate feel, especially given the lovely food they serve, as the layout is a bit too open and has a dining hall feel. All in all a good place to go for dinner. We would definitely return, but would ask for a table away from the center of the room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No bartender at the wine bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had been there before shortly after they first opened. To be expected there was a bar and a bartender who tended the bar. It was excellent. This time it wasn't so great. The service was poor and slow. There was a lot of staff behind the bar coming and going but it was no ones job to 'tend the bar' or so it seemed. Any 'bar chat' that happened was amongst the staff with little acknowledgement of the guests. I felt unimportant. I felt invisible.

It's a shame because over the years since we have lived in the same block as Provence it had become our 'go to' place. We could always count on the service and quality of food. Now I'm not so sure and would not recommend the wine bar to people -- it's not that special. I hope the restaurant side continues to be good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provence Marinaside also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Provence Marinaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provence Marinaside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.