We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok mexican food, good entertainment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poncho's Mexican Restaurant

Poncho's Mexican Restaurant
827 Denman St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2L7, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-683-7236
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,055 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok mexican food, good entertainment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

FIrst off I normally would not recommend Vancouver BC for mexican food but being that it was Cinco de Mayo and the restaurant was 2 blocks from our hotel we decided to give it a try. This is a fine place but the food was just ok. Kind of bland and lackluster. They had a great singer who provided entertainment for our 2 year old. He was a lot of fun. I wouldn't say stay away but like I said nothing special.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Being from Texas I know my way around Mexican food. This little spot in the West End of Vancouver made me feel like I was back in Dallas. The chips and salsa were spot on and the margaritas to start were tasty and packed a punch. I started with some prawns that were sauteed in garlic and spices, cooked to perfection and the portion was just the right size! Next I tried the beef alambres, a spicy beef skirt diced and sizzled up with cheese and bell pepper. The beef was so tender and juicy and the spices were not overwhelming. I wish I had room for dessert, from what I saw the presentation looked amazing as was the flaming coffee. The service was a little slow but the servers themselves were genuine and warm, everything a Mexican restaurant should be. When I go back to Vancouver I will make sure to say hi to Kaeta the owner and enjoy those amazing margaritas!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poncho's Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good food and ambience. Came here while we stayed at Robson's street. We missed out on the live singing as we came during his last performance. Overall, was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Poncho's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited Poncho's while staying on Robson Street. It was recommended to us by the hotel staff.
We were very pleased. Tasty authentic Mexican food, and great service. Very reasonable prices too. I had the prawn fajitas, they were very nice. The only complaint was one of the meals came with far too much salad!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ponchos is good homemade Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Kaeta is the owner and operator and she is always there to make sure it's good. I have been going here ever since it was the only option for Mexican in the West End. Now we have more options, but mostly chain places or small counter service places. If you like the food in Mexico you will like Poncho's, Everything is made in-house. I think I've had everything on the menu over the years and the standout favourites are: Chicken Chimichanga (not deep-fried here like at Tex Mex places - it's significantly better than a deep fried version), Enchiladas Verde with the sweet and medium spicy Tomatillo sauce, and I love the Chili Rellenos. Ever since I was a kid growing up in California I have loved a good Chili Rellenos and this is one of the best. a difficult dish to prepare the way they do. On a rainy Vancouver day a good authentic Mexican meal and some live music (and maybe a Margarita) will warm you up. Churros here are great for dessert too. They are made in-house and served with ice cream. I find the ice cream is not the best but it compliments the delicious Churros. I always want to get them to go and have them with some Hagen Dasz at home. For $60 we had (free) chips and salsa, one appie, 2 Dos Equis beer, 2 main courses and dessert. Not bad at all. It feels like a night out too because of the live music on the weekends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poncho's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Poncho's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poncho's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.