We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French restaurant in Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Crocodile

Le Crocodile
100-909 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2N2, Canada
604-669-4298
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,810 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best French restaurant in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are missing french food while in Vancouver, you can go to this restaurant as it is located in central downtown Vancouver. The food is outstanding, but very pricey. If you love Duck confit, roasted rack of lamb or beef tenderloin with pommes frites, this is the place to go. The dessert is also outstanding as well, specially the Grand Marnier Souffle if they have it available on that day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    74
    23
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love French Cuisine..but its Pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you like French food this is the place for you! The food was delicious and the service was great. The only down fall of this place was it was quite loud and VERY expensive...but the food did make up for it. If you decide to try Le Crocodile..bring lots of money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of, if not the, best dining experience my wife and I have ever had.

Service was like watching poetry in motion, and *every* single piece of food that we ate was exceptional. It was wonderful.

Noise level was a touch on the loud side, but the service and food made up for it.

Eating here will cost you $$$$, but as a special occasion it's more than worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OMG the food was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughter and I were planning a visit to Vancouver so I had done a bit of investigation into restaurants for a nice dinner. I made a reservation online at Le Crocodile. It turned out to be only a few blocks to from our hotel, so we were able to walk to the restaurant. There was an option of ourdoor seating but we chose to eat indoors. The restaurant is quite small and intimate. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, seated promptly and our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. We started with the pastry wrapped escargot for a starter. I had the veal medallions which were delectable... (the sauce on the veal was so good I would have liked to eat it with a spoon.) My daughter had a seafood fetuccine which she enjoyed very much. (The one negative was that the lobster claw meat on her pasta was served with the 'cartilage' still inside, which made it impossible to cut, so difficult to eat.) We topped the meal off with desert - creme caramel for me and a chocolate mousse for my daughter. The deserts were likely the only somewhat disappointing part of the meal. I am a lover of Creme Caramel, and this was nice but not the best I have had.
However, overall we had a lovely evening, and would recommend Le Crocodile.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent tasting menu at Le Crocodile; the service was polite, friendly, and just right, the food was very good, and the wine matched the courses well. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Crocodile also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Le Crocodile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Crocodile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.