We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been fantastic but wasn't.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
1088 Cambie St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6J5, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 899-4449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Terrazza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #338 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Pacific
Transit: Find us one block from the Yaletown Canada Line station.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could have been fantastic but wasn't.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is always hard to judge a restaurant during Dine Out. But I use Dine Out as a way to pick new restaurants that I want to go back to so I think they should make an effort. First off the food and the wine list were both great. No complaints there. Desesrt fantastic! The service was just lacking from the moment we walked in. First we were ignored, the host was looking over something so I understand he was busy. Maybe if he acknowledged us and said I will be with you in a minute but that didn't happen. Although there was a lot of space where we were sitting, everytime the waiter walked passed our table, he walked into one of us. No apology - and this must have happened at least 5 times. It may be worth another try but not sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    31
    12
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Furry Creek
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful service, food and wine selection. Ask for Chef and owner Gennarro, for assistance on your dinner choices. Great after dinner drinks. Sit by the fire place if you can.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A little slice of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

La Terrazza is located just on the east side of the Historic Yale Town entertainment district of Vancouver. Close to all of the major sports and entertainment venues like Rogers Arena (NHL Hockey concerts and trade shows) BC Place Stadium ( CFL Football White Caps Major League Soccer and stadium concerts) The restaurant is in a newer building but still manages to capture the charm of the older buildings in Yale Town. We went for a pre Christmas dinner with some co workers and had a very Christmas Themed experience with the restaurant decked out in all of its Christmas glory. We all had appetizers and pre dinner drinks, ladies had the special pasta option which the kitchen gladly split the two pastas in half so each could taste the others entree. The men had steaks and they were grilled to perfection with a nice portion of fresh vegetables. No complaints but lots of raves. Dessert was simple with Tiramasu and Creme Brule again no surprises nice and creamy. The restaurant was crowded with several smaller parties but we all felt that the restaurant was lively but not over powering with noise. Our hosts Iqbal, Gullio and Genotto all came to our table to greet us and when we were leaving we were thanked for our patronage...nice touch. We will be back, still one of our Vancouver favorites!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegance & excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a classy Italian restaurant with an upscale interior, delicious food arfully presented, & superior service. Great place for a special evening or a party...they have a lovely private room upstairs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great wine - no whines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The wine list is superb. The food equally so. The service makes it 3 for 3.
Somewhat a hidden Vancouver gem that is WELL worth the short trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.