We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little of spain in Vancouver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodega Restaurante and Tapa Bar - CLOSED

La Bodega Restaurante and Tapa Bar
1277 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R3, Canada (Downtown)
(604)684-8814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Oz in Yorks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little of spain in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visiting from the UK, by chance we found this lovely little Tapas bar away from the centre of Vancouver,
There was a lovely smiley welcome. The food arrived quickly and was plentiful and the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unpretentious tapas bar in downtown Vancouver.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

La Bodega feels like a cozy neighborhood restaurant. Tables with red-checkered cloths are scattered in a number of small rooms. My review is limited to the small number of items that I tried. The sangria was tasty and loaded with fruit. Gambas al ajillo were as good as any I've had in Spain. I also enjoyed the artichokes with vinagrette, although the sauce seemed more like a Russian dressing. Strangely, you pay extra for bread which is a necessity to sop up the sauces. Otherwise, I thought the prices were unusually low for a tapas bar. And while I didn't try it, I was pleasantly surprised that a tapas version of paella was on the menu. What a great idea. The waitress was available when needed, but not intrusive. She encouraged me to sit as long as I desired. I had a very good cup of decaf expresso to finish off the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited here on our first night in Vancouver. Setrvice was fine and food OK Prices very reasonable
Good vibe on a our first Friday night in the city

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The keyword is taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Yes, The taste of each plate was great! And the ambience way better, I love the places that only thing you can do is talk and eat. No TVs interfering or loud music.
We were cellebrating a birthday and anniversary and we tryed Paella, ALmejas(clams), Conejo(Rabbit), Patatas bravas, Jamon(Ham), Carne Asada, and the most famous, Gambas al Ajillo(shrimps).
All the flavours maintained the same taste I have enjoyed when I was a kid.
A place to remember and come bcak.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Been here many times! Always a favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

An amazing restaurant with top quality food! The service is always impeccable, you are greeted as an amigo(a)! It's a great place for catching up with friends over a pitcher (or two) of Sangria. My other favourites from La Bodega are: Tapa Paella, Patatas Bravas, Besugo en Salsa and Costillas de Res. Happy Dining!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega Restaurante and Tapa Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodega Restaurante and Tapa Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.