We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service and lovely food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Japanese Steak House

Kobe Japanese Steak House
1042 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-684-2451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,096 of 2,935 Restaurants in Vancouver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome service and lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ate here and had a booking and glad we did as it was very busy....and it does not take long to see why......the service is awesome and entertaining and the food is stunning.....
We had all sorts from prawns/scallops/beef etc......all cooked to perfection
One of the best Teppan Yaki restaurants around!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    22
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Fast and good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Kobe's has been around a very long time...I was a kid last time I was there. Thanks to a Travelzoo deal my wife and I visited the Kobe Izakaya Lounge. The restaurant is up stairs. Had reservations(a need to have, even on Wednesday) for eight o'clock. Seated right away and served immediately. The voucher lets us pick six items off the appie menu. The food that passed us looked awesome, the food we eat was exceptional. The Tuna Avocado Salsa is a must! We also had the short ribs,(tender but very sweet ) chicken karrage, ebi mayo...very good, spicy tuna roll...and it was! Finishing off with the sashimi ... Very good even though a few chewy pieces. There is a extensive wine/beer/saki list best buy a whole bottle as the 'by the glass' prices range from 7 to 12 dollars. I also had a Mai Tai (9.50$).....if you like rum you will like this. I like rum! In the lounge there are low tables for small groups....very dark setting: walls, celling, and furniture are either black or brown to go with the low lighting. The food is very good but it is very expensive. Our bill would have been 87 dollars. Our servers where polite and quick. One of the bar tenders lacked personality...it was a hard ship for her to ring our tab through. I did appreciate the clean washrooms! We will be back next week as we have one more voucher left!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My title says it all. When looking for a new-er dinning experience Kobe is the place to be. I found this place by exploring the entertainment Vancouver book for new restaurants to try.

We (my girlfriend and I) ate upstairs. If your not eating in a group of 8 or 10 you'll probably be seated with people you don't know. Make friends, it makes the evening that much better.

The food was good, i mean really really good and leaves you feeling full. Not because your eating large amounts of food but because your served a little here and there.. Your pretty much eating little bits for the first 40 mins and then your main course arrives. on average with out a discount your looking at about $40-$50 a person.

Your paying for dinner & entertainment for about an hour. I wish it was a tad cheaper but regardless we loved it and plan on going back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For a fun night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A pretty original spot in Vancouver. Make sure to make time to have a drink and appy in the bar downstairs -the "Special Mai Tai" will knock your socks off! The food is great and the Chef's are so much fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kobe on sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Enjoyed the tasting menu, compliments of a Travelzoo voucher. Tasty food, enjoyed around low tables in the bar area. Very dark on entry, couldn't see the seating in our corner as it was black and lighting very low - disconcerting! But, the food was good, fun trying the different varieties.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese Steak House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kobe Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.