We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
777 Thurlow Street (at Robson), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is the bomb. Great food service and atmosphere. I had the halibut and scallops. Busy place. I got in quick because i was alone. I think they take reservations. Based on crowd i would try at least. If not relax and have a drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    415
    117
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not Miss this Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I had a great dinner at Joe Fortes. I had seafood and he had steak. Great drinks, Great Service and Excellent Food. Do not miss this experience. It is pricey so come prepared but it is well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to Joe Fortes on the recommendation of the hotel and were very impressed. Our group of 4 all ordered different fish meals and everyone's was very tasty and cooked beautifully. Staff was very knowledgeable about the menu and the different fishes so this was very helpful to choose a local fish to try. It's a busy place, a bit noisy, but the service and food is worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing oyster bar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amazing selection of oysters...fresh, flavorful, absolutely delicious!! Well worth the expense. And, if you can, get a table served by Wade. He knows his stuff. The only waiter I know who'll write the customer a thank you note. Now that's service above service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield oh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Had one day in Vancouver before an Alaska cruise, and was told to eat at Joe Fortes. Good advice, the Sunday brunch was one of the better meals I've ever had. My wife had Chicken and Waffles and I had Joe' Signature Benedict. Waffles we awesome, just enough sweet, my eggs were perfectly done, in short an excellent meal. Yes we had to wait for a table but the atmosphere and service were impeccable, even going out of their way to help my wife who uses a walker. A great experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.