We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks on the rooftop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
777 Thurlow Street (at Robson), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Drinks on the rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place to go and have a few cocktails on a hot summer day - up on their rooftop! The new set up is the perfect surrounding for any party or duo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    414
    117
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has fabulous food. We ate outside on the patio and there was a great atmosphere. The service was excellent and the seafood was first class: I had oysters and my partner had the Prawn Ceviche, both were really delicious. We both had halibut for main course and again delicious. Well worth the money and to be recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

it is a very busy place, but the food is great and service is good. it is noisy, but in a good way. we were not able to make a reservation for the next day, but they seat people at the bar, which is even more fun sometimes. i've had the best halubat cheaks I've ever tasted. Drinks are good also. highly recommend to visit. they have happy hour 4-6pm.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Walked to this restaurant from our hotel. Arrived during happy hour so we sat at the bar. All happy hour specials were half price. Our party of 5 tried 7 different items from the happy hour menu and all of them were great and of the highest quality. Our waitress ,Emily , was friendly, professional and attentive. All of the food came out promptly and very hot.

Nice selection of beers, drink specials, etc.... The only disappointment was the extremely overpriced wine list.

I highly recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“forgiveness is divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Joe Fortes at the suggestion of the Concierge at our hotel to celebrate our anniversary. Upon our arrival we were promptly seated and promptly forgotten. After about 20 minutes, yes we are a patient family, I finally got up and approached the gentleman that seemed to be overseeing the dining area. Once I brought their attention to our table it was all business after that. Every need was met before we realized we needed anything. Apparently, they had changed servers areas that night and our server Cole didn't realize she had our table. We started our meal with the steamers and I must say, they were the best I have ever had. Next we sampled the local BC oysters and they were delicious. To our surprise, Cole brought another appetizer of smoked salmon. The bread was served with a balsamic reduction and a lobster infused oil OH MY! Heavenly.... Our children ordered the Seafood Linguine and split it and we ordered the seafood special which consisted of three large prawns, sea scallops and grilled salmon. Both meals were totally amazing. The kids (two growing boys with big appetites) were very happy with the amount of food they had. I was extremely pleased as the prawns were cooked to perfection, the scallops were light soft pillows of air seasoned and seared to perfection and the salmon was medium rare... Perfect! There was a pianist on the stairwell landing and the ambiance was nice for this crowded and very busy restaurant. Once again, we were awarded our patience with a sampling of their desserts. It was a toss up, but, I can say that the lava cake, the crème brulee, tiramisu and the ice cream were all heavenly and if they are offered as a sampler on the menu, do order them. Everything was so good. Their tiramisu rivaled anything I have had anywhere including Italy. It was amazing. So as you can see, to forgive was definitely divine. Save up your pennies because this one will cost you. Cole informed us that happy hour offers 1/2 price appetizers and $1 oysters (but, you need to ask for the oysters as they aren't on the menu).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.