We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood. The best yet on our travels.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
777 Thurlow Street (at Robson), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 2,876 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood. The best yet on our travels.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Healthy delicious food, great service! My husband had the calamari which was crispy and delicious. I had the wild salmon and halibut special with roasted potatoes and veggies...all done to perfection. Highly recommend...we went back twice for lunch!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    425
    118
    56
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On recommendation of hotel's concierge, we decided on late lunch here, and were not disappointed. Among dishes sampled were fish & chips (best French fries/chips we've ever eaten anywhere), oysters on half-shell (dozen of four selections), fresh and briny, an excellent baked salmon, and one other dish we can't recall, but which my wife enjoyed.

Had we spend more time in this lovely city, we'd definitely gone back. A bit noisy, but excellent food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

what can I say except fabulous. you need to book otherwise no table. great food and service is professional. this is a restaurant I enjoy. after 6 pm the piano player starts up and adds to the ambiance. this is a very busy restaurant, get over it for the food. great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over-rated, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Too much in your face, not too expensive but not too good either. Server decided to talk to us to fill the long wait for food to arrive, lost interest when his up-sales pitch fell on deaf ears. Very noisy joint, not the best steak I've eaten.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant- the best seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate at Coast restaurant the night before, which was very good, but Joe Fortes is outstanding. The service was excellent, as was the atmosphere. The fish (halibut and Copper River salmon) was outstanding. The truffle fries were addicting. Crab cake was fantastic, as was Dotty's Chopped salad! It was a great way to end my vacation. Only wish I came here my first night in town, so I could come back a second time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.