We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
777 Thurlow Street (at Robson), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 2,842 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Houston
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On recommendation of hotel's concierge, we decided on late lunch here, and were not disappointed. Among dishes sampled were fish & chips (best French fries/chips we've ever eaten anywhere), oysters on half-shell (dozen of four selections), fresh and briny, an excellent baked salmon, and one other dish we can't recall, but which my wife enjoyed.

Had we spend more time in this lovely city, we'd definitely gone back. A bit noisy, but excellent food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    411
    117
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

what can I say except fabulous. you need to book otherwise no table. great food and service is professional. this is a restaurant I enjoy. after 6 pm the piano player starts up and adds to the ambiance. this is a very busy restaurant, get over it for the food. great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over-rated, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Too much in your face, not too expensive but not too good either. Server decided to talk to us to fill the long wait for food to arrive, lost interest when his up-sales pitch fell on deaf ears. Very noisy joint, not the best steak I've eaten.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant- the best seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate at Coast restaurant the night before, which was very good, but Joe Fortes is outstanding. The service was excellent, as was the atmosphere. The fish (halibut and Copper River salmon) was outstanding. The truffle fries were addicting. Crab cake was fantastic, as was Dotty's Chopped salad! It was a great way to end my vacation. Only wish I came here my first night in town, so I could come back a second time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

4 of us ate there a few weeks ago following a Friday wedding. The atmosphere and food was fantastic! This is NOT a place to go for a quiet evening; it's busy and FUN! What MADE our evening was our wait person Alisha! She was efficient and very hands on. Her personality and sense of humor was amazing! Thanks Alisha!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.