We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
777 Thurlow Street (at Robson), Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,795 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

what can I say except fabulous. you need to book otherwise no table. great food and service is professional. this is a restaurant I enjoy. after 6 pm the piano player starts up and adds to the ambiance. this is a very busy restaurant, get over it for the food. great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    628
    343
    104
    48
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over-rated, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Too much in your face, not too expensive but not too good either. Server decided to talk to us to fill the long wait for food to arrive, lost interest when his up-sales pitch fell on deaf ears. Very noisy joint, not the best steak I've eaten.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant- the best seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate at Coast restaurant the night before, which was very good, but Joe Fortes is outstanding. The service was excellent, as was the atmosphere. The fish (halibut and Copper River salmon) was outstanding. The truffle fries were addicting. Crab cake was fantastic, as was Dotty's Chopped salad! It was a great way to end my vacation. Only wish I came here my first night in town, so I could come back a second time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

4 of us ate there a few weeks ago following a Friday wedding. The atmosphere and food was fantastic! This is NOT a place to go for a quiet evening; it's busy and FUN! What MADE our evening was our wait person Alisha! She was efficient and very hands on. Her personality and sense of humor was amazing! Thanks Alisha!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House is a popular restaurant on Thurlow Street, just between Alberni and Robson. The sunday evening we ate there it was busy, as it was most of the time I passed by. The food served is good, the atmosphere OK. On the other hand, it is not spectacular either. Just good value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.