We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's gone. An icon of Vancouver, This 80's star is no more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino di Umberto - CLOSED

Il Giardino di Umberto
1382 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Downtown)
604-669-2422
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's gone. An icon of Vancouver, This 80's star is no more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Umberto opened il Giardino in the late 70s and in the 80s especially it was the best place in Vancouver, the site of fantastic late night shenanigans, great food and power-whatevers, Umberto has just announced that this flagship is finally closing forever. I have great memories of this place but have to admit that as Vancouver grew up as food town, I've not been a patron of il Giardino. Perhaps it was time, if not past time.

Just to be clear. The restaurant is closed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    13
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Umberto's below it's usual standards!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just days before Umberto closes his restaurant, a group of us decided to have 'our last supper' there. The coat check/reservation gal was rude, our server was better but the food was horrible. One of the two soups were replaced with the Oyster soup, but the pastas were over salted. The menu prices were increased by 50% minimum and the overall experience was a disaster. Not sad to see it go now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Beautiful Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although il Giardino's is closing down in a week or so, you will still be able to visit a few of Umberto's other restaurants(2 are up at Whistler, BC).

The decor of this heritage home is beautiful and will remain after the doors to the restaurant are closed. We were lucky to get a reservation, as many are wanting to visit before they close they're doors on April 13th, 2013.

The service and much about the feel of il Giardino takes me to Italy, especially our server!
The old house is divided into many very elegant rooms. I loved the decor!

The food and portions were larger than expected. Our anti-pasti we ordered was Calamari lightly grilled with olive oil and lime served with a tomato salsa. It was the largest piece of calimari I've ever had and it was cooked and prepared to perfection! I was amazed with the taste of the food!
We told the server we were sharing and our plates came split and they were huge!

Our entree was also shared and it was handmade tortellini pasta stuffed with roasted squash in a portabello mushroom and white wine tomato sauce. I really appreciated every bite of this delicious entree.

We decided to have the Tiramisu della Casa for dessert, which we also shared; it was one of the best ever! ...and we've eaten alot of Tiramisu in Vancouver.

This restaurant is wonderful, elegant and amazing! I really hope we can visit it one more time but if we don't, we have a beautiful lasting memory of great service, beautiful decor, and amazing food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I had not been to Il Giardino for several months and I was pleasantly surprised to see how their service and food had improved. Mind you, the restaurant has always been good but this time the food and service were exceptional. Well worth a try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The end of an era!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I went on saturday night for a final experience before the doors close forever in April. We were not disappointed! Three generations of our families have been coming since Umberto opened his doors. We've had many celebrations there, always the choice of our grown kids too! They learned how to experience fine dining in a wonderful setting, no other like it in Vancouver. The wine cellar has always served us well, as have most of their staff. We have loved the food and the atmosphere and the occasional operatic voice! So thank you Umberto for so many wonderful memories and being an integral part of many of our family's celebrations!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino di Umberto also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino di Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.