We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like steak, this is the place to go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar

Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar
637 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2G3, Canada
604-683-7671
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #190 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $23 - $185
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dunsmuir St.
Description: Hy's has been Canada's first name in steaks since opening in 1955. For nearly 60 years the Hy's name has meant the finest Canadian beef and impeccable service in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Hy's is Canada's premiere steakhouse. We are Hy's, and proud of it, since 1955.
Seattle
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“If you like steak, this is the place to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While at a conference in Vancouver, we went to Hy's Steakhouse. We were not disappointed. The food was fantastic, and the service wonderful. We had a very difficult time finding the place (on foot and walking around). That's not the fault of the restaurant. The quality of the food matches the price, but you get what you pay for. I would recommend this restaurant if you are in the mood for quality steak.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    42
    26
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ambience, food, everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I would have rated it excellent from previous experience, but my husband had a steak that was AWFUL on last visit - hence only 'very good'.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Forget the steak,go for the Halibut! We were six adults.Three had steaks and three had the halibut.
The three that had the fish were happy,the three that had the steal were not.I had the signature steak and had to leave half on the plate due to the fat and tendon content. Our American guests complained about the thickness and the gristle.We called the manager and he got upset with us but eventually did not charge our guests for their steak.
Would never return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just One of a Kind and One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

So where does one go for great service, great steak and a great atmosphere? Yes there are places that may have two of the three above, but Hy's Steakhouse has been around for a very long time, and if a restaurant is not great, it does not last this long...and where else can you go and have Caesar Salad made table side? Wonderful food, wonderful service and wonderful memories to be had here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classic men's club atmosphere - last of the madmen lunch spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Imagine a 70's-style mens' business club where women are welcome and the food is great. I am reminded of the best of the 70s when I visit. The restaurant is relaxing, a bit dark, rich furnishings. Known as a stock exchange hangout but caters to lady tycoons, too. Had lunch with a group of business contacts and everyone really had a good meal and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hy's Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.