We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant for special occasions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Street Grill

Hamilton Street Grill
1009 Hamilton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5N 2K5, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 331-1511
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamilton Street Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #610 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Nelson
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A restaurant for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I went with a group of friend to the Hilton Grill in order to celebrate the birthday of one of them. But the restaurant was obviously overwhelmed by the group of 20. After ordering the meals it took them much more than 1 hr in order to serve the food. The last ones got their meal after almost 2 hrs. The quality of the meals was very good, although some of the servings (lamb shank, halibut) were a too small. An the mashed parmesan potatoes were quite dry due to the dry cheese; a bit more milk or butter in it would have improved the dish significantly.
I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions if you are just a small group. The food is good, the price is higher than average, but correspond to the location. In my opinion it is too expensive for a casual dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Travelzoo coupon, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We purchased a coupon through Travelzoo $69 and enjoyed a fix-price menu - Dinner for 2 with 3 options for appie, 4 options for main and 3 desert options. The elk carpaccio was amazing! Enjoyed the salmon wellington and chocolate mousse for desert. My friend enjoyed pate, a risiotto duck confit dish and crème brulee. We started with cosmos - they were fabulous! Wine selection was great also. Not an inexpensive meal, but enjoyable. The seating was too cramped for my liking, with 4 douces lined up against a wall. The restaurant was not busy for a Friday night, so the seating was unfortunate. Our server was great, attentive and professional, always refilling our glasses, but not hovering. A large party came in & made things very noisy, even though they were far away, c'est la vie!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Been here many times and found it good but recently found it to be poor. Last time, I had my favourite, the burger, and it was awful.... overdone. Called the owner to let him know and he was surprisingly indifferent. Will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was barely tolerable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Based on previous positive experiences we went to the Hamilton Street Grill for a family dinner. I had the halibut which was so overcooked it was tough, dry, and basically inedible. I told the waitress who suggested they redo it but since the same dish was just as bad for 2 others at the table that seemed pointless. And, I was so hungry that waiting another 20 minutes didn't make sense.
The place was pretty much empty, guess there may be a reason for that.
Sorely disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have been there a few times before. Service was great, Kaitlyn was our server. Atmosphere was cold, food just so so. Disappointed, need to try other places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Street Grill also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hamilton Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.