We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dining with view on False Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company

Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company
1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada (Fairview)
604.685.7070
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #385 of 2,827 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fairview
Transit: #50 & #51
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice dining with view on False Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

After a stroll around Yaletown and Granville Island we arrived at 7 pm. We were seated on the heated terrace. Nice atmosphere. Good food and wine. The Dockside Ciopino is great! Friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    100
    44
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
“Dumb business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Tried to get in at 5:30 on Saturday night restaurant 1/4 full would not give us a table. Dumb, Dumb, Dumb

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sitting By The Dock(side) of The Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Outdoor seating overlooking False Creek, a beautiful sunny afternoon and a delicious light meal, what else can you ask for! A plethora of local craft beers to choose from (onsite brewery) is what. We arrived for lunch (at 3:20 PM) but unfortunately the lunch sitting closed at 3:00PM and dinner sitting was not till 5:00 PM. The in between menu consisted of a number of "Small Bites" (appetizers) and limited choice of "Large Bites" (burgers,pizza, salads, etc). We settled for the beef burger and were not disappointed (bring your appetite, good size portion). Probably the BEST burger we have tried in a long time. The dish was served hot and was fresh.

As it was a beautiful sunny day, we opted for the outdoor patio. The indoor seating was very bright and the ambience inviting. Since we were between sittings, the cost per person was $$ (reasonable given the location) but expect to pay $$$ for the dinner sitting. Overall the service was attentive and very casual friendly. Would definitely place the Dockside on the repeat list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dinner in Vancouver so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The food here was absolutely impeccable. I had the trout chowder which was full of small chopped veggies, potato chunks and large bites of delectable trout. The grilled salmon with fingerlings cooked in duck fat was to die for. I requested rare on the salmon and it was done perfectly. Normally the chef does med so ask for rare if that's how you like it. The sauce was not too heavy but rich and well seasoned I loved the odd mix of veggies, tiny peas, watercress, and golden beets. I was a little jealous of my husbands Caesar salad with bacon and his halibut topped with crunchy potatoes. For dessert we got a sweet and tart little lemon meringue disc topped with a perfect raspberry sauce and decorated with bits of gold flakes. Excellent service and of course a great view. Highly highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Luncheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a lovely luncheon on the patio this week. The food was delicious and the portion sizes just right! Dessert was to die for... save room, you will want to try some dessert, I recommend the cheesecake, my guests loved the lemon meringue pie. Our server was really great too, very attentive and friendly. A beautiful day and the perfect patio luncheon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Restaurant & Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.