We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for Lunch during a shopping break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DIVA at the Met

DIVA at the Met
645 Howe St. (Metropolitan Hotel), Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada (Downtown)
604-602-7788
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
DIVA at the Met is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: West Georgia
Transit: Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, we are a short walk to the Queen Elizabeth theatre, the Vancouver Opera, the Centre for Performing Arts, BC Place, and the Rogers Arena, home of the Vancouver Canucks. The stations for the Sky Train and Canada Line are less than 1 block away.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Stopped in for Lunch during a shopping break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

World class food,with amazing service.Always a reliable place to bring friends for a special lunch. It is a fav.among the locals and the buisness community.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    87
    37
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“condesending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

While we had a satisfactory xmas dinner it was not made clear until we arrived that it was a tasting menu until we sat down. Service was so aloof,"was'nt that a wonderful course"etc. Made to feel we were honored to eat there. Portions minscule.Another gripe is that we had to order desert at the same time as the rest of the 4 course dinner. In and out in a hour ,make room for the next party.! I have been going to this hotel and restaurant since it opened but it needs to understand its not the only game in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another outstanding dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Another amazing dining experience at Diva with Chef Hamid and brigade. Every time we come here it’s consistently a home run.

Hamid is focussed on what’s local and fresh and takes great care to have only good quality products. We have been a few times and so I just had to stop and write another review. Beautifully prepared French style food. We are foodies and have been to some of the best restaurants in the world and I am consistently wowed by what Chef Hamid creates. Innovative, the depth of flavour in his dishes and especially sauces is just absolutely amazing.

We went for lunch and asked him to cook for us and it was stellar we had…
- the oxtail soup with cilantro, mint and carrot. The broth had a kick but not too spicy.
- Queen Charlotte Albacore Tuna tartar with orange and avocado was fresh, tender and delicate.
- Humboldt Squid with Moroccan sausage, smoke poblano pepper puree, olives and tomato concasse was an absolutely stellar and slightly unusual dish. A definite must have.
- Thai glazed pork belly with pineapple and a curry broth that was flavourful and balanced sweet, spicy and salty.
- Black cod with a wonderful clam and shellfish reduction was an exceptional broth.
- Dessert we had the kalamansi sorbet with a pineapple lemongrass sauce which was a wonderful palate cleanser and totally refreshing in a very unique presentation (not going to spoil it for you) and then we ended with the dark chocolate praline bar. Yum!

Corey Baudry did an excellent job of wine pairings with every selection spot on. He is a fantastic sommelier and restaurant manager.

Another absolutely wonderful fine dining experience by a chef and kitchen that consistently delivers quality, innovative sexy food and I will say some of the very finest food I have had in the world. Front of house is in good hands with Corey. Hands down one of our favourite restaurants in Vancouver, BC Canada.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Being a business traveler (eating in a different part of the world every week) and a lover of great customer service and high-quality food, I am delighted to recommend the Diva restaurant in Vancouver, Canada. I have had amazing meals, but very few compare to their Lobster gnocchi, their compressed apple salad (I know it sounds strange), and their praline creme dessert. OMG... I will miss this dinner until my return to this gorgeous city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Breakfast if prompt, nice selection and good.
Ordered room service dinner from Diva and it was excellent!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DIVA at the Met also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to DIVA at the Met? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DIVA at the Met, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.