We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive "Italian"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill
1133 Hamilton St, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-688-7466
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 2,804 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: HELMECKEN/DAVIE
Transit: Sky trains Canada Line
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Expensive "Italian"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This restaurant is very expensive to overpriced - food and wine. I'm just glad that the night we went, our food was delicious. Restaurant is located in Yaletown.

Ambiance is nice, darkly lit (I like a bit more light). Good service. As much as I enjoyed my meal, for the price - well, Vancouver has many excellent restaurants that is not as pricey.

This is more Mediterranean in cuisine style than Italian - as the name says. Look at the menu ahead of time and decide if you want to splurge here. It is popular - was busy when we went on a Saturday night so would recommend reservation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Vancouver has become such a "foodie" town that it is hard to narrow down restaurant selections. But this should be one of them. It's easy to get to this trendy area by subway. The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating. There is a nice selection of wines and a wide menu. The food was excellent, and the service was attentive. We would go there again the next time we're in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
749 reviews 749 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
1,379 helpful votes 1,379 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Upon the recommendation of the hotel's concierge, we dined at Cioppino's, located in the Yaletown of Vancouver. This is an upscale Italian restaurant that serves excellent food. Upon arriving at the restaurant, we were placed in the wine room, which was very nice. The music being played throughout the restaurant’s audio system was a soft jazz, and that too was enjoyable. My wife had the off-menu zucchini blossom for a starter, followed by gnocchi with a light tomato sauce, and accompanied with a glass of Conte Vipera from the Umbria area of Italy. I selected the lobster bisque for an appetizer, followed by a veal porterhouse with an excellent pepper sauce. As for wine, I had a Barbera from the Piedmont area, which was very nice. This was a very nice dining experience. Our helpful and attentive server had the restaurant receptionist call us a taxi to take us back to our hotel, and it came within a few minutes. This is a fairly expensive and popular restaurant; reservations are recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I was scheduled to attend a dinner here with colleagues, and I have to admit I was a little concerned due to the inconsistent reviews on TA. We had a great dinner! Our waiter was fantastic and provided many suggestions for us. He started us with an assortment of appetizers, all of which were great. I enjoyed the halibut immensely, and everyone else was pleased with their dinner as well. A great restaurant in a great location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
548 reviews 548 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Overhyped. Not Italian. Not a "Top" Restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived for a reservation at 2100 and was offered the table between the toilet, the main walkway and the open plan kitchen whilst other, much better, tables were empty (and one remained so all evening). We were moved!
Food was definitely not Italian. Pasta/risotto dishes are only offered in full portions so a pasta intermediate course is not possible. Carbs served with main meals (and veg) are non-existent or in tiny portions so you are left having to order more after the main meal has arrived. Two out of three starters were tasteless (beetroot, heirloom tomatoes) and all three were decidedly non-italian. One of the mains was also tasteless; the two veal porterhouse offerings were very good but lacked any carbs apart from a teaspoon of delicious creamy potato.
Wine list is silly for this restaurant and for Vancouver..... Hundreds of top end Italian wines; few of which were personally known to the sommelier and most of which i suspect are never sold as they are just too expensive. (Most of the clientele were not drinking expensive wines). Much better to concentrate on a select, smaller list of quality wines known by the sommelier from a personal point of view. The wine recommended to us was very average and poor value even by Canadian standards.
Service was good.
I cannot understand how this restaurant gets such strongly positive views from the Canadian press - i can only assume that they have no taste or are not independent. The tripadvisor ratings are far more realistic as are those of other, non-Canadian reviewers...

Avoid this place and go elsewhere for much better food even though locals line up to spend their money. The Italian owner/chef here needs a rethink!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.