We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in a comfortable atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill

Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill
1129 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-688-7466
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 2,937 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: HELMECKEN/DAVIE
Transit: Sky trains Canada Line
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a group of 8 on a Friday night. The service was top-notch without being pretentious. The prices are quite high so you expect great food and it was. I had rack of lamb with an odd foamy coconut curry thing on top. Portions are not huge and we left not being full even though we each had appetizers and desserts. The high point for me was the appetizer with burrata cheese and assorted veggies. The lemon tart was perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vancouver...hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have explored every nook and cranny of the Vancouver restaurant market and Ciopppino's is still at the top of my favorite's list. Let's go through the list - food, service, atmosphere and value... The food is impeccably presented and tastes unbelievably good. My faves are the lobster bisque and Caesar salad to start and the Quebec rack of lamb for a main. Truly to die for. The service is top shelf - professional, courteous and knowledgeable - you are not never left wanting nor do they hover over you. The atmosphere is one of fine dining without all the stuffiness and pomposity usually associated with such a term. I always feel at home there. As far as value goes, Cioppino's is pricy for sure, but if you want the best dining experience in a city where a couple ofnCanucks tickets are five bills, then you are going to have to pay for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

One of the best meals I have eaten in a long, long time - even in Italy (although I don't often dine in this price bracket)! We dined there as an extended family and the young teenagers were treated just as well as the adults: the food was excellent, served promptly but without waiters seeming to hover or us having to wait more than one would wish - enough time to chat and enjoy the experience. Every one loved their meals from appetisers to desserts and we ate the whole range of dishes from fish and seafood, meat and poultry, pizzas, etc. - the whole gamut. I had the Linguine and Lobster (as a main) and I would heartily recommend It! Even the portion size was well judged. A totally nice, relaxed and delicious experience. Thank you!

We were guests so I can't pass judgement on all aspects but I would say - well worth a look.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice and unpretentious Italian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Five of us went there for a quiet birthday celebration diner and we had a very good dining experience.
We shared a plate of charcuterie (they were really not cheap with the meat, even for five people; it was a lot) and we all had a pizza. The pizza was really good and the meat from the platter was fresh and good quality.
The service was very friendly and the manager/owner even took the time to have a little relaxed chat with us and other tables, which shows that he really cares about his customers.
Excellent Italian restaurant; will go back and recommend it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cioppino's Offers Smarmy Italian Charm!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Cioppino's has the distinguished honour of making the coveted list of one of the best places to dine in the country. This Mediterranean Grill undoubtably has elegant Italian ambiance. The staff and management are well-versed in fluttering around and seeing to their customer's needs.

I had the pleasure of dining here on a couple occasions, but never really found the Cioppino experience as rewarding as some. Yes, the menu offers unique, creative, and innovative dishes, but they fail to please my culinary palette.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cioppino's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.