We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Il Nido

Cafe Il Nido
780 Thurlow St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E1V8, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-685-6436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Il Nido is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #344 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Bus stop & skytrain station walking distance in the heart of downtown
Cobble Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Was visiting Vancouver and wanted some Italian food. We used to live in Vancouver and the restaurant quality is always world class. This was not the case here. The service was fine, nothing special, but the food was not good for the money. The ousso buco was overcooked and had no taste. The lobster ravioli was ok, but not great. We were going to go to another place but got lazy and should have gone there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Food ... Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went for dinner on Wednesday, November 21.

As appetizer, we had the seared scallops. It was perfectly cooked however we were expecting more than 3 pieces for $15.
As entree, the spicy seafood linguine was good although small in portion. It was over-priced for 3 prawns and 2 scallops for $25. The spicy lamb sausage linquine was good as well but again small in portion.
For dessert, we shared the cholocate torte. It was moist and tasty but was served thinly sliced. The vanilla ice cream was fine but was smaller than a tablespoon.

Overall, the food was good but is overly priced for the size portion.

We had two servers. The waiter who brought us the menu and took our drink order was friendly and professional. It was unfortunate that we did not get served 100% of the time by him as the waitress is terrible. She barely spoke to us and when she did, it was no more than 1 or 2 words. For example, her way of asking questions were "pepper?" "cheese?" "dessert menu?". Not once did she asked how was the food.

When we asked for the bill, we gave her a 20% discount coupon. She did not say anything and walked away with it. When the bill came, I gave her a $20 gift certificate and my credit card. She held the gift card and asked "you want that or this" meaning we can only use one or the other. We did not understand why as the gift certificate is a form of payment. We did not bother with the reasoning as she is unapproachable. We chose to use the $20 gift certificate and she left and came back with a new bill but neglected to return the 20% coupon.

Although the food was good, the service the waitress provided truly ruined our evening. We will not be coming back nor will we recommend this restaurant to anyone we know.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Chose the restaurant from reviews & seeing some dishes on the menu that appealed to me. We even checked the location in the daytime to see what we thought & it seemed fine. Daytime courtyard looked lovely & I thought we'd be seated there in the evening too but no, we were inside & the decor is so dated it instantly put me off, plus the lights were so bright, but they were immediately turned down on request. Service was friendly & efficient by all 3 members of staff who helped us. Food was good. I just wouldn't need to visit again, until I see a review that says the carpet has been changed to hardwood!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A good Italian with great veggie gnocchi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good Italian food and a really good veggie pumping gnocchi. Best to check ahead that it is open as we found it closed on a Tuesday when we tried to return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really great service but the bolognese was bland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The patio looked great but we did not use it as it was still a bit chilly in Vancouver. The service was greally great as they gave us recommendations, kept refilling our waters, and when we finished our bread the offered us 2nds! We shouldn’t have taken them up on their offer because after we had the appetizer we could only get though half of the main. We both had the Bolognese which unfortunately, was a bit bland... or maybe we just had too high expectations? Either way there are better places to get pasta, but if you’re on robson street it’s worth a visit because it is affordable and not your typical joeys/milestones.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Il Nido also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Il Nido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.