We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar

Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar
1095 Hamilton St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5T4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-688-8078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,788 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent all around, from entry until departure.
The location is difficult to find parking on a busy night

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    464
    172
    49
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
506 helpful votes 506 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I went there very late in the evening but I was warmly welcomed. The spot is cool and lively, located in a trendy area of the city. I expected it was jus an oyster bar, but it was much more. First of all, oysters are offered in different types and variants that I nevere tasted before. And also the choice of cooked fish is huge and tempting. Delicious wines accompanied our dinner. Very tasty, very pleasant and very enjoyable

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A must-go in Vancouver.The restaurant is a bit pricy,but it is worth going.The sushi rolls are terrific,especially the dynamite rolls.The salmon sashimi was pretty good but certainly not the best.The best starter is the carrot soup.It really surprised me and we love the aftertaste of it.We liked the sablefish,because it seemed really fresh.The tenderloin was good too.Their services were good too......

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“Holy Sashimi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wow. This was some of the best sashimi I have ever had. I went with the toro, hamachi, shiro maguro, and the unagi nigiri. The toro was out of this world, it practically melted in my mouth it was so tender and delicious. We sat at the sushi bar and got to chat with the head chef who was entertaining, knowledgeable, and a fine chef. We had the sashimi with a selection of the raw oysters, which were also fantastic, as well as sake and a couple of beers (Lagunitas Lil Sumpin' Sumpin'). We liked it so much that we came back the next night as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Daughter's wedding experince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Blue Water Cafe was the venue for my Daughter's wedding. I can't say enough about the food, staff, ambiance and overall experience. From the initial meetings about the event to the final clean-up the staff were helpful, friendly, and went the extra mile to make the day very special. The food was amazing. Appetizers were creative and flavourful. The mains were superb. Dessert to die for. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.