We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about worth the expense” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar

Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar
1095 Hamilton St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5T4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-688-8078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,810 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just about worth the expense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Large dining room but with a great atmosphere and very professional, efficient and but somewhat pushy service. We had the usual combo of some oysters, some sushi and fish entrees. Without even asking we were recommended a $100 bottle of white wine - don't you just hate that? The food was great though, some of the best oysters we've had. Overall a lovely evening, the bill was a little eye-watering though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    187
    51
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely and stylish restaurant inside, with pleasant tables outside as well. Food was tasty, wine was reasonable in price with an absolutely enormous wine list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab food fab service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a large group of out of country guests, being introduced to Vancouver, and managed to book a last minute dinner reservation at Blue Water. Even though they were a full house we had suburb service, the presentation of all our selections was exquisite and delicious. The salmon mouse layered appetizer was one of the most delicious appys I've ever had. My friend & I shared the tiered appy tester and each item was so different, tasty and wonderfully presented. The halibut special was fabulous on the fresh pea risotto. My friend "forced" me to share dessert and I just barely managed to do justice to an amazing melt in your mouth panacotta decorated beautifully with delicate meringue fingers. A fabulous experience. The red wine was poured out of an exquisite glass decanter with accuracy and grace, certainly adding to the experience. The main reason I write though is the lovely professional service by a young lady named Kita (sorry if spelling is incorrect). She is so lovely, graceful and calm in a very busy environment. Her service was absolutely exceptional, making sure everyone was taken care of in a discreet and quiet manner. All round all the staff were attentive and our guests were very impressed. What a great introduction to Yaletown, Vancouver & Canada.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Sea Food In a Great Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I ate here in March after wandering around Vancouver all day. It was fantastic. I had the shrimp cocktail and sashimi, while my husband did his usual, "surprise me" order and received a black cod that was delicious. Sure, it was a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The service was top notch, and the food was perfect. If you're in Vancouver, and you like seafood, this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere & Lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for a birthday and reserved a private room with a group of 8. The service was great and the food was amazing. I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.