We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and srvice ...top notch. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar

Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar
1095 Hamilton St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5T4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-688-8078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food and srvice ...top notch. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner on a calm sunday evening. Truly great food and exceptional service from a young, energetic, and professional server from Montreal. Every dish from the sushi bar was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    467
    172
    49
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great trend place for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

You have to book early to reserve your table. This restaurant is very busy.

Our waiter was very helpful and cheerful. We ordered some caviar to share among us with some champagne. Then we had some fresh BC oysters. The oysters were terrific. Then we ordered some sushi rolls and sashimi to share. By the time we finished these, we felt quite full already so decided to skip the main course and went for the dessert.

Take your time and order as you go. You will enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our seafood dinner here tonight. We sat at the sushi bar and found the sushi preparations very entertaining. In fact, one of the sushi chefs was nice enough, when he had a short break, to help me de-shell the wonderful dunginess crab that I ordered. Service was prompt and attentive. Casual atmosphere and friendly staff. An excellent choice for fresh seafood.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our visit to Blue Water Cafe was the perfect ending to our Vancouver visit. The sushi was so silky, like something I had never eaten before. Last minute, our Concierge at The Fairmont got us seats at the sushi bar. We got to watch the chefs prepare beautiful trays of sushi and seafood, from small to triple tiered. Wine selections excellent. The salmon first rate. But it was the sushi for me that was memorable. We will return. Expensive? Yes, but a rare treat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good, but Not Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very crowded and noisy. Patrons include a lot of after hours business people who seem to get louder the longer they sit at the bar.

Food was nicely presented and was very tasty. Good menu with very appealing selections.

Parking is tight so be prepared to either Valet it or walk a couple of blocks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.