We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar

Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar
1095 Hamilton St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5T4, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-688-8078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Helmcken St.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had oysters, really fresh and tasty
Fish was cooked perfectly
Service very attentive
Gets busy any night so book ahead

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    467
    172
    49
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. A great dining option for couples and friends; this is one of our favorite local restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great seafood, ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Recently in Vancouver BC for a week at an International Conference. I thought I'd try out the good restaurants and one night tried the Blue Water Cafe. The reservation process was simple and the service was great. Made to feel extremely welcome and given a choice of places to eat - either the bar or at a table; I chose the latter.
The menu had a good range of choices and the wine list was equally comprehensive.
I chose 'butterfish' for my main and it was absolutely beautiful. It was not over-cooked and was very well presented.
The waiter, Kris, was extremely helpful going over each of the fish choices that included fish I didn't recognise. He was pleasant, well spoken, helpful, courteous and service was great. We need to learn some lessons about service in Australian Restaurants.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood - frenetic atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Expect the very best local fish and seafood here. Frank Pabst's kitchen really delivers flavour and freshness, which somehow seems miraculous given the enormous size of this restaurant. $36.00 gave us one dozen local oysters to begin. One tuna carpaccio as an appetizer, followed by delicious Qualicum Bay scallops and locally farmed sturgeon, along with extra sides of perfect spinach and truffle fries made for a feast. Sommelier suggested excellent BC wines to match. We shared a plate of intensely flavoured house-made sorbets for dessert. Our bill, without gratuities, was $283.00 for the two of us. Expensive, yes. The food was worth the cost, however, the nosie level is almost unbearable. We could not carry on a conversation without raising our voices to almost shouting - even having a conversation with the wait staff was difficult. Service was frenzied and rushed, and considering the noise level, it was really only the food that won us over in the end.
This is not the best place for an intimate dinner; it is for a big night out with friends or business associates, where you can kick back in an upscale casual resto, and drop a bundle on wine and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Experience - But Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had been told that the Blue Water Cafe was the restaurant to experience while in Vancouver. A busy restaurant,had excellant service by the wait staff and great food. We did expect the meal to be on the pricey side - so was prepared for that - but wasn't prepared for how noisy the restaurant was. We were only a party of two but we couldn't hear each other across the table and I asked to move so that we were seated next to each other. That did help but still made it difficult at times to converse.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.