We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average best of the bunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine

Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine
820 West Broadway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 1J8, Canada
604-731-6333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better than average best of the bunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Being Malaysian I have pretty high standards for Malaysian food. I'm entirely unsure why a cosmopolitan city like Vancouver can have generally such poor Malaysian food but that might be because Vangroovy is a relatively small city. Malaysian food is spicy, incredibly complex and expensive to do right. Indians who might eat spicy instead eat Indian food. Mainland and Southern Chinese eat the garbage Cantonese bland food. Adventurous people might try Malaysian food but really, in a city of 1.2m people how many truly adventurous palates are there? This might go a long way to explaining why so much Thai food in this city should only be served to dogs.

So in brief, the Malaysian food here is not bad. Some dishes are done better than the others. Some are dumbed down for orang putih (carrots? tomatoes? GMAB). Roti, Laksa, Char Kuay Teow, Nasi Lemak, Kai Fan are good. Laksa could be a bit more spicy but toning it down is understandable. Curry Chicken and Sayur Lemak are a bit on the soggy side. Their Hainanese chicken rice is pretty darn good though. Prices are reasonable too which gives it pretty decent marks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    117
    24
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“delicious and innovative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

there are 5-6 restaurants of this name in the Vancouver metro. The foods are like fusions including Malaysian, Chinese, Thai, Indonesian and Indian. Not as hot as the true native Malaysian foods but are at good levels for average Canadians and Americans. A bit pricier but worth it. It was crowded in the evening of Saturday night but to go is available. Too many good dishes to name here. Try the ones with sea foods.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Years ago I learned to eat Mee Goreng in Bali. Lunch today at the Banana Leaf brought back those exquisite flavours. Service was excellent, and cost was very reasonable. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“9-Course Tasting Menu at the Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There were 3 of us for dinner and we ordered the “9-Course Tasting Menu” at $30 per person. There is a minimum of 2 people required for the 9-Course Tasting Menu.

The 9 courses consisted of 4 appetizer samplers, 4 entrée samplers, and a dessert.

First course was the Mango Kerabu, a shredded mango salad with a sweet and sour dressing.
The other 3 appetizer courses came at the same time after we had finished our salad. They were Satay Chicken, Roti Canai, and Steamed Mussels in Cumin and Ginger.

After we were done with the appetizer samplers, we were given clean plates and utensils for the 4 entrée samplers. The entrée samplers came with a bowl of turmeric rice. The entrée samplers were Rendang Beef Curry, Gulai Tiger Prawns and Scallops, Caramelized Ginger Sablefish, and Sambal Green Bean.

The final course was dessert – Pisang Goreng which is crispy fried banana with vanilla ice cream topped with peanuts and Gula Melaka (palm sugar). It was a great way to end the meal!

Total cost with a mango juice, a coffee, and no alcohol was $99.75 before tip. It was very reasonable for the amount and variety of food that was served. I would definitely go there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Perfect Lunch is just that. Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Met by the friendliest staff our lunch at Banana Leaf was our first in Vancouver. And it was the best! Splitting the "Perfect Lunch" for two we shared what can only be described as some of the best Malaysian food I have ever had. Seriously, I have eaten all over the world (check out my profile) and this place was in the top ten percent hands down.
Great prices too, especially for Vancouver.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.