We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alcohol, appetizers and atmosphere --- what could be better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge

Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge
845 Hornby St. (Wedgewood Hotel), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1 , Canada (Downtown)
604-608-5319
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $82
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Burrard Skytrain Station. B-Line 98 on Robson & Burrard.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Alcohol, appetizers and atmosphere --- what could be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Bacchus Lounge at The Wedgewood Hotel has long been my favorite up-scale watering hole in downtown Vancouver. For 20+ years, I have enjoyed the exquisite ambiance of the room and the warm, efficient service of the staff. This is a place I always bring out-of-town visitors when I'm playing tour guide.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    80
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful service and wonderfully inspired food. The wine pairings suggested were spot on. We have eaten here a number of times and are always anxious to return.

Enjoy a leisurely drink in the adjoining lounge before dinner or take your after dinner drink sitting by the fire in the lounge. All in all, a most enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Highly Rated, Properly So”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We started our meal at the bar with a chicken liver pate and tuna tartar and both were the very very best. My wife had a lamb loin which was perfectly prepared and I had a veal loin and slow cooked veal cheek, both wonderful. No salt on the table...a pet peeve of mine as I think it an arrogant affectation of chefs. I asked for it, got it with a frown from the waiter, and didn't use it. We had a lemon tart for dessert and it, too, was perfect. It's an absolutely BEAUTIFUL bar (GREAT bartender clued us in on the town) and dinning room with a pianist who played and sang great old show music. Perfect with a super meal in a beautiful setting. You Go To My Head--the music, the meal, the setting all did. Valet parking as it's downtown. Highly recommended. Join me on facebook, search L. J. Martin, author of three dozen westerns, mysteries and crime novels...The Repairman series on Amazon now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“the standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

one of your standards in Vancouver. It is one of the restaurants that actually have a piano player. The room is lovely. Intimate, quiet and the music good. There is a lovely lounge with a fireplace. The food is your average standards of steak and fish. Nothing ground breaking. If you want a safe (rather boring in terms of taste, flavor or even variety) avenue to bring your mom, this is it. If you are looking for a gastronomic meal, go to Le Crocodile. The value is certainly not quite there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a great restaurant, with a great atmosphere. Whilst in the restaurant, you can hear the piano player in the background which makes the dining experience romantic. The food is delicious, and the service is attentive but pleasant. What a great dining experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.