We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and ambience with good food accompaniment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge

Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge
845 Hornby St. (Wedgewood Hotel), Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1 , Canada (Downtown)
604-608-5319
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Robson
Transit: Burrard Skytrain Station. B-Line 98 on Robson & Burrard.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service and ambience with good food accompaniment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bacchus is a high end restaurant and bar with great food and impeccable service, Lunch entrées were mid-sized. I had the Cobb Salad which was rather more iceberg lettuce and less "fixin's" than I have previously experienced. I substituted shrimp for the normal chicken with no fuss and despite the lettuce to other ingredient ratio favoring the lettuce it was nevertheless delicious and sufficient. My friend had a panini which came with a few leaves of lettuce and he said it was one of the best he had eaten. We had a bottle of San Pellegrino and a total of three glasses of cheap Chilean white wine. We each had a dessert which were quite small though delicious - a lemon soufflé cake thing and a crème brûlée with ginger. We each had coffee (very good coffee) which came accompanied by a chocolate pecan candy atop a mini-biscotti. Service was exceptional - fast, informative and friendly without being overbearing. The room is comfortable with lots of groupings of soft furniture. We had a table next to the window which was open onto the street as it was a nice day. The room is warm and clubby - lots of wood and soft chairs - rather like the Empress Hotel in Victoria used to be before they "renovated" it into an upscale American motel. There is a fireplace and a grand piano which sees service in the evenings
Our bill (including $20 tip) was $132.00. As I said - not a cheap lunch but when the quality, ambience and service are all considered, not overly expensive either. I went with expectations that everything would be top-notch as this was a business lunch and was not disappointed - a rarity in a city where so many restaurants have delusions of grandeur.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    74
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Solid, Good and no surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A typical North American steak restaurant experience, meaning the stereo type of large robust furniture, dim lighting and a bar with live-piano-playing having a prominent place overall. It fully lived up to that, with the piano-playing sound level good for the bar-guests, but somewhat loud for a dining experience where you also want to converse a bit. The food was great (we had steak, fish and a range of salads) and the service was fine and quick but edging on "you better tip well" attitude among some of the staff. Great wine list, but they just did not have what they listed which was a bit of a letdown, especially when they apologized for the wine list being "outdated" - so why not update it! What they then had, was good and okay priced

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too presumptuous , no substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I found it loud , expensive and presumptuous with nothing original to command the amount asked for in the end

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“outstanding Dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we had from the start to the end a great dinner experience, very welcoming staff/servers and a very talented crew in the kitchen. love the wine-list lots of BC wines, and the local dishes. when in the mood for french/traditional food this is a great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Semi-Private Room Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived and were seated in the small private dining area off the side of the restaurant. We have eaten here many times but had never experienced this room which is quite intimate and romantic.

We have had many meals here and this was no different, excellent food and service. Started with the smoked salmon appetizer which was absolutely fresh and only lightly smoked so as not to overpower the salmon. A positive is the large quantity of smoked salmon, the downside being that the three blinis were insufficient for that much salmon (not the worst problem in the world)

Entrée was the Pan Seared Alaskan Weathervane Scallops on Risotto and it is hard to imagine that the scallops could have been prepared any better or that the risotto could have been any more flavourful.

One recommendation for this restaurant, dress for a very warm room, because this restaurant is always far too hot. We have experienced this in the main restaurant and certainly experienced it again in the private room. Not sure if this is an air conditioning issue or a choice by management, but definitely something to be aware of. It's the only drawback to this otherwise excellent restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.