We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Souvlaki!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simpatico Ristorante

Simpatico Ristorante
2222 4th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Kitsilano)
(604) 733-6824
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Souvlaki!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went here with a group of friends for a birthday. Very good service and everyone enjoyed their meals. They gave us an area in the back which served our purpose. They had ciders on the menu, which I like.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER BC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Greek food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food here is sublime. The portions are large and the service is wonderful. This s my favourite restaurant in my home town and the best Greek food I have ever eaten outside ofbGreece and beats some places I know in Greece

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"A little bit of Greece"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are craving some Greek food in a cozy taverna , this is
the place to stop buy. Small and intimate without feeling
overwhelmed by blue and white checkered table cloths. All
traditional Greek foods are available. Windows open in
summer for that additional fresh Vancouver air1

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It's All Greek To Me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I enjoyed my 26th anniversary with my wife at this establishment that has been there longer than our marriage. We went for nostalgic reasons I suppose. The decor has been redone over the years but still retains enough of the original feel to rekindle fond memories. My baked shoulder of lamb fell off the bone. I know I will be able to come again in another 10 years when I may not have or need teeth to chew it. Incredibly moist and tender. The calamari did not disappoint either. The portions are massive and many people walked out with little boxes of their leftovers. Our lithe Brazilian server had an engaging and enthusiastic smile and was very attentive.
Super value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Underwhelming - flavorless meal and servers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first visit to this restaurant and I was looking forward to a particularly flavourful Greek meal. This was not meant to be unfortunately. The service was standoffish and unfriendly. They got the job done.

I ordered the Kalamari dinner which was served with tzatziki sauceand Greek salad. The tzatziki sauce was thick and fresh, but lacked flavour. The kalamari was chewy and not appealing to chew on. The Greek salad was lightly dressed and the feta cheese and dressing did not add any flavour to the mild flavours.

Overall the food was lacklustre and underwhelming. The service was also impersonal and I will not be going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simpatico Ristorante also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Simpatico Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpatico Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.