We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Japanese restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus's Garden Restaurant

Octopus's Garden Restaurant
1995 Cornwall Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Kitsilano)
(604) 734-8971
Improve this listing
Ranked #324 of 2,802 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favourite Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I love coming here for sushi. In fact, this is my favourite Japanese restaurant. Everything is always so fresh here. The atmosphere is nice and the servers are so polite. Having candy octopuses after with the bill is a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tiny unique Japanese restaurant in Kits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

grilled tuna on a hot plate, best i've ever had. friendly eccentric chef. lovely waitresses in real kimonos. tiny china octopus souvenirs are somewhere between art and kitch. food is exceptional. best place to spend a rainy evening with friends, eat well, and enjoy sake or exotic green teas.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Love the Octopus venting system on the ceiling. Great sushi, good value.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
368 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Wonderfully real Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We went here with a Japanese friend and her husband. The unique tea blend is terrific, as was the hot sake, but the highlight was the silver belly (black cod), which was amazing. The Sado roll is also a must, as is the Kobe beef. All in all, more than just sushi and sashimi (all Feb!). I had eaten Sado's sushi at a couple of catered events and had wanted to try the restaurant. Now that I have I must go again soon. Very few tables, so booking is a must.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quite simply the freshest sushi I have ever tried.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My little one said to me, "before this place, I'd never really had sushi before..." She was right. This little restaurant is the best annd freshest sushi I have ever eaten...EVER. The white tuna literally melted in our mouths and the salmon was to die for. When I complimented the owner, he told me they had been there 20 years. I can understand the longevity, but I am amazed that the place is not overrun with diners.

Quite simply the freshest sushi I have ever tried. 5 stars is not enough.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus's Garden Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Octopus's Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus's Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.