We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks in a very pleasant environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar

Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar
615 Seymour St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3K3, Canada
(604) 605-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 2,816 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $51 - $102
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dunsmuir St.
Transit: Granville Sky Train Station is right around the corner on Dunsmuir St., just steps from Gotham's front door.
Description: An American style steakhouse and cocktail bar featuring tender steaks and stiff drinks. Gotham features soaring ceilings, sumptuous leather and velvet upholstery, private dining rooms, an award-winning wine list and exceptional service.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great steaks in a very pleasant environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited Vancouver after a cruise to Alaska. This restaurant had been recommended to us before we left for our trip. Good location. The service was great. A little pricey but the food was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    83
    33
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The six of us had absolutely excellent service and a wonderful meal. Steaks and salmon were cooked to our requests and were delicious as were the side dishes. Wine, coffee, dessert, etc. well done. We were not rushed, and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Although a bit pricey, we would recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive and Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Eight of us were staying at the adjoining hotel, and through a mix-up ended up eating at the restaurant. Dinner for 2 was almost $200 with drinks, and the NY steak we shared ($48) was gristly. Nobody was happy with their selection and all felt ripped off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was a very great time our server Luca was so friendly and attentive! It was busy and not once did we sit with an empty glass or dirty plate? The service right from the host at the door to the young man serving the water it was phenomenal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average steak, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended from the Fairmont. Being the carnivorous New Yorkers that we are, we couldn't resist trying a local steakhouse during our recent visit to Vancouver.

The ambiance was classic and charming. Jon, our server, was incredibly hospitable and hilarious! He offered some great stories along with solid recommendations for our meal. Exactly what we appreciate in a good steakhouse.

To start we had the incredibly fresh and delicious shrimp cocktail with horseradish cocktail sauce (yum) and the ahi tuna - both amazing. The cheesy toast with four different cheese was out of this world and not on the menu, so be sure to ask for it! We opted for the 2009 Chateau Meyney Saint Estephe, a great bottle that continued to improve with each taste. For our main course we shared the large portion of the bone-in-ribeye. This steak was supposedly the talk of the town. We were so excited to sink our teeth into its juicy flavorful flesh. Sadly, the steak was served cold, no sizzle and definitely did not live up to the top 2% grade hype. Normally I would send such a disappointing piece of meat back to the kitchen. However, Jon was so friendly and funny that I actually didn't want to hurst his feelings. Thinking back now, that was pretty stupid. So, I improvised and ate the steak with the cheesy toast. Mmm mmm good. That cheesy toast can do wonders with any dish.

Overall, had a nice time. Disappointed that this is one of the best steakhouses. Then again, we're from NYC so we are probably spoiled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.