We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Italian Charm with Amazing Duck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Francesco

Don Francesco
850 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-685-7770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Francesco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 2,872 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smithe
Transit: Bus stops on Burrard and Smithe Streets; Robson bus stop at Burrard; Skytrain - Burrard Station; Canada Line - City Center
Description: The enduring fine-dining restaurant in the heart of downtown Vancouver - the dining room to the stars - serving traditional Italian cuisine with a French twist and an extensive wild game menu.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Style Italian Charm with Amazing Duck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We dine here at least yearly when we meet up with an annual group & we've always enjoyed a fabulous Italian meal. It has great charm as its been around for a very long time & the loyal longtime staff are helpful & courteous. The menu is extensive; the hardest thing is making a selection from the pages of choices. This time I started with crab ceviche, which was delicious & then had the AMAZING duck as a main. Probably the best duck I've ever had! I can't wait to return & despite all the choices I will have to have the duck again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    78
    28
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Massively over-rated but convenient to downtown Vancouver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We dined al fresco on Don Francesco's "world-famous" restaurant on a fine spring evening. Our veal piccata was passable, as was the porcini soup, but the escargots "Italian style" were greasy and about as edible as freshly cooked elastic bands. This restaurant claims to be the best Italian place in Vancouver--fortunately that is not the case; there are plenty of fine Italian eateries across the city. This one belongs in the "mediocre" category.
The service was excellent and good-humoured.
The prices cannot be justified, considering the quality of the ingredients and of the preparation.
The architecture is pretentious and eclectic, but serviceable.
Location, not many minutes' walk from the cruise ship terminal, and on or near several good bus lines, is excellent.
Our (my wife's and my) chief objections are to the quality of the food--and to the over-selling of the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaypare, General Manager at Don Francesco, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ciceronian,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our restaurant. I apoligize that your experience wasn't anything but exceptional. We do pride ourselves on being one of the best Italian restaurants in Vancouver and we do strive to serve and prepare all our dishes to the highest standards.
I would like to have you try us again and guarentee, you will have a different opinion afterwards.

Please feel free to contact me personally.

Jay Pare
General Manager
604-685-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

As guests of the Sutton Place Hotel we were directly opposite The Don Francesco restaurant on Burrard Street. It's appearance caught my eye and the menu at the door completed our desire to have dinner there. Altho we had no reservation, a 5 minute wait at the bar, then found us at a well located table with a great view and warm behind a large glass window. Service was immediate and the menu extensive and obviously with an Italian predominance. We had soup, an entree, and a bottle of wine. It arrived quickly, our waiter was from the old school and offered excellent advice for wine. There was a guitarist playing in the corner but within an active restaurant he could not be easily heard, altho easily seen strumming away. Would we eat there again, certainly, like a shot. Would we recommend it, even faster!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Disappointed !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose Don Francesco for my birthday celebration, 10 of us, and were very disappointed in the poor service we received. We arrived at 7:00 and our drinks didn't arrive until 8:15 and dinner finally arrived at 9:30. Waiter was arrogant and didn't seem to care. Food was good but dinner experience unfavorable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“City Gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Excellent service (best in a LONG time -take note, other Vancouver restaurants!) amazing food (try the crab salad), "expensive-but-worth-it-wine", looking forward to the next special occasion so I can come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Francesco also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Don Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.