We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Lunch on the patio!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
1054 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada
+1 604-685-5010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alberni Street between Thurlow and Burrard
Transit: 5 minutes away from Burrard Street Sky Train Station
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business Lunch on the patio!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant is my favorite place for have seafood. For lunch we started with smoke salmon flat bread, sushi & fish cones. For my main meal I had the crab cakes. Be prepare that it is delicious, but it's a small portion so I was a little disapointed as it was my first time ordering the item. But overall this is still my favorite place in town to eat seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Great choices! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    276
    103
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped over in Vancouver for three days recently and by chance we found ourselves looking at the pavement menu at the Coast restaurant when we were enticed in by a very pleasant young girl and very glad that we did. My wife had Seafood while I tried a steak, both were absolutely wonderful.
We were even given a complimentary sweet for two which was very much appreciated, one of the staff found out that we were from Scotland and came out to catch up with some Scottish accents, all in all a very fine dining experience.
PS. Herb, your service was great along with the two girls who looked after us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Wonderful to hear! Thank you for making us a part of your time here in Vancouver. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the city. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Stylish, but room to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good for seafood lovers but non-fish/seafood people are poorly catered for.

Dined on lovely outdoor patio that almost got rid of the urban street pavement setting. Also, delightful server. Downsides included a too-wobbly table, unfortunately shaped crockery that meant battling to stop cutlery sliding around and, worst, presenting a customised beef tataki dish to an announced non-fish/seafood person with fish roe sprinkled all over it.

Coast replace the beef dish and did not charge for the replacement, so that was part reparation. And, the other dishes we sampled were pretty good, except a so-called twice cooked baked potato that in parts was barely cooked at all.

On the plus side, some unexpected amuse bouchée were a tasty surprise.

The overall rating therefore balances the pleasant surrounds and good service with a limiting menu and a kitchen that needs more accuracy. Cost-wise, this was in line with expectations, though surely some bread/breadsticks ought to be served?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that we were able to make up for the tataki oversight. I have passed on your feedback to the restaurant to ensure your comments are addressed. Thank you very much again for joining us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get the Salted Sea Bass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate here last night, the waiter recommended the salted sea bass. It is wrapped in romaine lettuce, the coated with rock salt and put in a egg white coating and baked. They bring it to the table cut the coating off, lift out the romaine wrapped fish and place it on your plate. Then they cut it open. It was unbelievable. I highly recommend this dish and the service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
LOVE that dish! Thank you for joining us at COAST - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“West Coast Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent food and service. We loved all they had to offer. We tried the Hot Seafood Platter and shared a bottle of wine. Our wait staff recommended the crispy brussels. We had them as a side order and loved them! Must try if you like your brussels. If you love seafood definitely give this place a try. We will be back, too many appetizing things on their menu and great friendly service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.