We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
1054 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1A3, Canada
+1 604-685-5010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $21 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alberni Street between Thurlow and Burrard
Transit: 5 minutes away from Burrard Street Sky Train Station
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great atmosphere, and wonderful seafood. Halibut season has just begun and Coast prepares it succulently!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Definitely one of our favorite seasons of the year! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    277
    103
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

As a born and raised Nova Scotian, I'm fussy about seafood and Coast gets it right. The spicy tuna roll was tasty and very fresh but the real test was the Nova Scotia scallops. Done exactly right! No deep fry, no sauces, no inappropriate spices! Perfectly cooked with care and served with a delicate blend of peas and mushrooms. Texture was right on and above all fresh. Service was attentive and not obtrusive. Good wine choices. A bit noisy atmosphere but it didn't diminish the food. I shall return to try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your scallops & meal! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went for drinks and appetizer at the bar around 5 pm when they offer special price. The server and bar tender were extremely friendly and we got excellent value for our money. Definitely w

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I'm glad to hear you got the chance to join us for Cocktail Hour! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Party in the lounge was success - great service & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

On April 6, I had my birthday party for 25 people in Coast's lounge downstairs. My very first experience with Coast. It went just excellent. The bartenders, Darrel and Nathan, did a great job. Serving drinks and food was smooth and gracious, as if staged. The food was good (I tasted several things) and served at the right times - a selection of canapé starters, sushi, rolls, prawns, flatbreads, french fries, salads... I had pre-ordered the starters and welcome drinks. The guests ordered some extra food and drinks a la carte. The music was nice and the volume adequate. So talking was comfortable, we did not have to shout to hear each other. The arrangements for the party were made with Monika Kodnani, EA to Coast's General Manager. Given a fairly short notice, I was a little stressed, but Monika is a gift - truly accommodating, understanding, attentive to details, ready to adjust to special requests. A blessing. Honestly, my party at Coast was at good hands from the beginning till the end. Good experience and truly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and for celebrating your special day with us! I have passed on your kind words to the entire restaurant team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Coast certainly works to provide a modern dining experience, resulting in a good but relatively expensive night out. I am not sure I would recommend the restaurant for a quiet evening as it is busy and the open design makes it quite loud. The seafood is very good but I have had better in Vancouver and at more reasonable prices. The restaurant does cater to large groups and this makes it a good choice if you have a crowd that want to dine together.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Coast Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.