We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub

Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub
1583 Coal Harbour Quay, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 669-7666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Cardero’s Restaurant in Coal Harbour offers spectacular waterfront dining right in the marina. Enjoy tasty wok dishes to share, fresh seafood, an extensive wine list, and much more. You can dine and watch as their talented kitchen team prepares your food from their open kitchen. The Live Bait Marine Pub features live music Sunday through Thursday from 9:00pm, a great place to grab a bite and pint and enjoy some tunes with friends!
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The atmosphere and service at this restaurant are its best features. The food is a very close second. The food is solid and when combined with service and ambiance. I would definitely return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    393
    96
    26
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Exceptional waiter guided us through a wonderful luncheon. Oysters and grilled salmon accompanied by a BC Pinot Noir.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Harbourside views with a heated patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Upon recommendation from a friend in Vancouver, we had dinner at Cardero's harbourside Marine pub. A warm welcome and great atmosphere and ambience. We braved the chilly autumn evening and sat outside on the heated patio - the temperature was very comfortable and we completely forgot how chilly it was - and enjoyed our meal with the sunset drifting over the north Vancouver shoreline. Overall, the prices were very fair for the prime location of the restaurant. Apps 8-12 and mains 15-30$. A creative menu boasting local seafood and a nice selection of local wines and beers. Good service. We started with the fish tacos (2 for 8$) which were a nice whitefish in a cilantro based and spicy salsa - not bad at all. For entrees, we had the BC salmon burger - the salmon was fantastic (not sure the bun was the best way to highlight it) and the ahi tuna and tomato (tower) salad - well seared and seasoned (would recommend adding arugula or spinach as a salad base).
Overall, a nice dinning experience on the beautiful Vancouver sea wall. Great atmosphere, nice ambience and good food. Would recommend this spot for sure. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service and wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Carderos had been recommended to us before we even left the UK for Canada so it was on our list of places to check out. We're weren't disappointed!

It was a very hot sunny day when we went for lunch and we chose to sit outside which was fine as we were still in the shade so it wasn't too hot. There were also glasses of ice water brought out really quickly to help refresh you. We sat against the railing outside the the view over the boats and marina was lovely.

My girlfriend ordered the Shrimp Dumplings and I had the BC Albacore Tuna which were both very nice and the dumplings were huge! We both had the Cajun Chicken Burger for main course and that was delicious as well. Throughout were had a very attentive waitress who was around when you needed her but not hovering which is a pretty neat trick!

We liked Carderos so much that we went back a week later when we returned to Vancouver and the service and food was just as good the 2nd time. We sat inside the 2nd time but by the huge windows so you still had a great view of the comings and goings in the marina. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very busy restaurant by the harbour. I ordered an appetizer and a main course. Only got my main course which was very bland.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Certainly, your experience is unusual, and one Cardero's management will definitely look into. We appreciate you letting us know.

Warm regards,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.