We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub

Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub
1583 Coal Harbour Quay, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 669-7666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Cardero’s Restaurant in Coal Harbour offers spectacular waterfront dining right in the marina. Enjoy tasty wok dishes to share, fresh seafood, an extensive wine list, and much more. You can dine and watch as their talented kitchen team prepares your food from their open kitchen. The Live Bait Marine Pub features live music Sunday through Thursday from 9:00pm, a great place to grab a bite and pint and enjoy some tunes with friends!
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great place to sit and eat good seafood. Nice waitress. My cajun style lingcod was first rate. We were quite happy eating there and would go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    393
    97
    26
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb lunch after biking Stanley Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Sit outside even if its raining with beautiful bay surroundings and excellent service and food. We loved it. Prices are not cheap, but not overpriced for the quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, but let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for lunch today at the recommendation of our hotel. It's a wonderful location down n the waterfront with a view out over the marina. Our starters, too, were excellent but the service was, disappointingly, the worst and most off-hand that we have experienced in Vancouver. Our mains - a seafood noodle dish and their beef hamburger - were slightly disappointing. The seafood dish looked like it had been left out under the heater for about 20 minutes before service, the burger was dry and the fries soggy. You just had the feeling that with more customer-focused service and a little more care on the food, this place would be sensational. As it is, I would rate it as average.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for this feedback! Clearly, your experience did not meet our standards of excellent (not only with the location which you agree is outstanding), but with our food and service as well.

Please accept our apology. We would really appreciate being able to connect with you personally so that we can look into why this happened. If you would be so kind as to contact us through email, one of the Managers at Cardero's will definitely follow up on the concerns you describe in your review.

Thank you once again for letting us know, and we look forward to talking with you,
Warm regards,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I ate here with some business associates and all enjoyed the great seafood,friendly and efficient service.
It has a busy vibe and even on a cool and rainy Sunday night the place was packed out.
Right on the water so plenty of great views and many local beers on tap.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ate here with about 10 other people and our waitress was spot on with helping me not only select my beer but also my entree. Great selection of local craft beer and even better seafood. The clam chowder was very good and my cajun lingcod was spot on.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardero's Restaurant & Live Bait Marine Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.