We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calhoun's Bakery Cafe

Calhoun's Bakery Cafe
3035 Broadway W, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Kitsilano)
(604) 737-7062
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,540 of 2,799 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Bakery
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A bit pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Think of an overpriced Starbucks with people surfing the internet and acting pretentious and pseudo intellectual. This is what you get from Calhouns. Essentially this place serves coffee, pastries and quick service food. My recommendation is go visit other places once you notice the prices on the menu of Calhouns.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

30% Recommend
    0
    4
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Open 24 hours a day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Food is okay. Casual atmosphere great. What is amazing are the hours - 24 hours. I was stuck in Vancouver one December 26 waiting for my son to arrive on a much delayed flight from Europe. Nothing else was open past 8 pm. At Calhoun's I was able to sit, drink tea, have a snack and wait to drive to the Vancouver International Airport. A sanity-saver; airport parking is pricey and waiting there is not so comfortable. Thank you Calhoun's!

Years ago I lived in Kits and had a young child. I always felt we were welcome there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and flavorless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Seems over-rated. I had the Cheesy Penne.. it was very bland and the noodles were dried out. I also dont like how they microwaved what i ordered.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to work and have lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I love this place for a fast lunch when I need a high speed internet connection. It has lots of great food for lunch and great coffee! Nice service and prices are decent. A panini and coffee was only ten bucks, but small bowl of fruit was over seven bucks.

That all being said I will always use this as my office away from my office when I m on the west side of Vancouver.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great late night coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We found Calhoun's while looking for someplace open at 9:30pm serving coffee-harder than you might imagine! Lots of pluses at this coffee shop: free wifi, lots of seating, good coffee, desserts & meals, ambiance, 24hours. We will visit again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's Bakery Cafe also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Calhoun's Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calhoun's Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.