We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar

Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar
1138 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2X6, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-915-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: French, Dessert, Canadian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Davie Street
Transit: Skytrain - Canada Line Yaletown stop is 1/2 block from Brix
Description: Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar, set in a 1912 Yaletown heritage building, is known for its modern Canadian cuisine that uses local ingredients in a comfortable, yet innovative way, a strong commitment to wine and an excellent wine by the glass selection offering over 60 wines by the glass. The room is warm, inviting & artistic; the unique glass covered courtyard patio is one of the jewels of the city, heated and open year round.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Went here because of a Travel Zoo coupon and will definitely return.
Everything was fantastic!
Great food
Great service
Great wine selection
The covered courtyard was an added bonus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    56
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably 4.5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably the most flavorful and well balanced meal we had. I had 2 starters and built a meal around that. The heirloom and buffalo moz salad was wonderful. The tomatoes were just incredible. I also had braised shortribs with a gilled peach and rhubarb. The acid in the dish as well as the sweetness of the peach really complimented the richness of the shortrib -- really a nicely composed dish. The only misstep would be the service -- not bad -- just a little arrogant. Very nice courtyard, however, created a very nice dining environment.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, food hit and miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We liked the décor in the restaurant and the atrium. We sat inside due the humidity of the evening. Started with crab cake and scallop appetisers and they were "very good". For mains we had the duck and the salmon; the salmon was terrible, it was undercooked, dry and was the tale portion of the fillet, not a piece that is normally served in any restaurant I have been to. We sent it back and the replacement was much better, cooked properly, flakey and tasty. There was definitely something wrong with the first piece. We finished off with peanut butter cheesecake and desert of the day (cake with strawberries and cream), they were nice. The one deal breaker for us was the fact that we ordered a good bottle of wine and paid full price because we were there on a Travelzoo while the table next to us received a discount on their bottle of wine because it was a Monday night and they were not on a Travelzoo. Discrimination as far as we were concerned :-( ; for that reason alone we won't come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice variety on the menu. Excellent wine list. Mussels were particularly good. Recommend for a relaxing dinner, not as hectic or pretentious as some other restaurants

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at this restaurant. What a wonderful staff. We felt that our waiter enjoyed to the fullest his work. I had the flatiron steak. Even though it was a little over cooked, it was very delicious. The ambiance in the courtyard is magnific.

Hats up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brix Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.