We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly deserved of its top billing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's

Bishop's
2183 W. 4th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
(604) 738-2025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bishop's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 2,793 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Yew Street
Description: Delicious contemporary local cuisine made with fresh local ingredients. The well prepared dishes and intimate atmosphere will leave you with a dining experience not to be forgotten.
Rochester, Kent, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clearly deserved of its top billing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food that would hold its own against any fine dining restaurants back at home - London. You were made to feel special on arrival and you were then looked after carefully during the meal. A small venue, a taxi drive away from downtown, but well worth the cab ride fee. The food was packed with flavour. My salmon was expertly complimented by fresh vegetables, fried gniocchi and an ingeniously created curried sauce which provided some tasty subtle undertones to the dish. One of my party had the lamb and was raving about its sauce! My cherry pie dessert was heavenly - the smell of pastry on arrival at the table won me over immediately and the rest just had my mouth watering. The sorbet selection was highly innovative and successful and the deconstructed cheesecake was authentically flavoured and highly indulgent. Overall, we were pleased to see an uncluttered menu offering a good range of food. The plates were packed with flavour and the staff gave an air of upper end dining through their attentive service. Initially we felt that this meal was expensive but if you factor out the ludicrously priced Canadian wines you will find that the food is actually quite reasonably priced! An enjoyable evening and a big thumbs up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    142
    38
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very romantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bishops has been a culinary institution in Vancouver for over 25 years and it shows why it is still at the top of the list.

The food was delicious, from the duck appetizer, to the salmon, all the way to the scrumptious dessert. The service was really good was well, very attentive, kind and informative. We got a visit at the table from John Bishop himself which was nice - he recommended the oysters, which were delicious.

Then place is not big, but it is cozy and very romantic. I would say the better tables are near the back of the restaurant, on the higher level.

Now for the not so excellent points : the white wine I personally tried was not very good, probably one of the worst I have tried in Vancouver. Also, they kept the place unusually cold, and lastly the wait for the food was a tad on the long side, compared to most restaurants i have been to, especially for the desserts - we actually thought they forgot us.

However, overall the place was fantastic! We will surely visit again in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The two of us the same mains but the waiter coaxed us to try one of each share brilliant idea. Wonderful shrimp bisque. Haida halibut was done to perfection with the perfect vegs to go. But the best part were deserts chocolate pot and rhubarb shortcake. I will have this on the top of list next time I am in Vancouver.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice night out, food was fine, service was friendly but a bit forgetful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Four of us had a nice dinner at Bishop's. The cocktails were tasty, the wine selection was good, especially the selection of British Columbian producers (although the selection of vanity French wines was pretentious to the point of silliness). The room was pleasant although a little chilly on the evening of our visit. We chose between lamb and Haida Gwaii Halibut both of which were excellent, and nice starters with tasty freshly baked breads. Our server seemed to forget about us at times, but when he remembered that we were there he did his job well. Over all a nice night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good Quality Meal and You Will Pay for It.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After years of coming to Vancouver my wife and I finally tried Bishops to find out what all the fuss has been about. The restaurant is not large and has a warm and classy feel without being stuffy or overly trendy like many other Vancouver restaurants especially in Yaletown. The staff are very friendly in a genuine way and service is exceptional. Be aware the menu is very limited and if you are expecting a decent variety of seafood dishes to choose from you will probably be disappointed. I always thought Bishops was a seafood restaurant but it doesn't really "specialize" in it based on the menu. We had wine and a cocktail which was delicious and for appetizers we tried the beet salad and the duck terrine and both dishes were very good although I thought $16 for some beets and cheese was a little brave. The terrine on the other hand was a great combination of flavours and I enjoyed it. For our entrees we had the halibut and the rack of lamb and both dishes were excellent. My wife said her halibut was one of the best dishes she has had and my lamb had some great flavours that worked well together but to be honest the bacon ragout was the best part of the dish and the lamb was secondary. We also tried a couple desserts and the rhubarb shortcake is a winner. I usually don't care much for anything called a "shortcake" but this dessert impressed me. All in all a great evening for my wife and I and we enjoyed our experience but it didn't knock our socks off. I doubt we'll be hurrying back because I personally don't think the dishes were worth the lofty prices but it was good to get out of Yaletown for a good meal prepared by professionals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Bishop's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.