We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's

Bishop's
2183 W. 4th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
(604) 738-2025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bishop's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Yew Street
Description: Delicious contemporary local cuisine made with fresh local ingredients. The well prepared dishes and intimate atmosphere will leave you with a dining experience not to be forgotten.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Bishops is a little gem, something of a diamond in the dirt which was quite unexpected on the mediocre 4th avenue strip of Kitsilano..!

Its white table cloths and attentive service, by several people, the drinks and the meals were well presented and very tasty.

Would recommend for special occasions as it saves the locals of Kits trapesing downtown...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    45
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tequisquiapan, Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

i was introduced to Bishops over 20 years ago (long time to be in business) and some great things stay! Located on West 4th, Kitsilano area but not far from downtown.
I have always associated this restaurant with special events in my life ...... meeting the in-laws/birthdays/graduation/special date etc. My last two celebrations were, Mother in laws birthday and then my daughters graduation, both chose this restaurant.
Food, limited menu, which I love! The chef takes pride in using local, organic produce.... they even have their own farm for some produce! I always go for seafood and it is always perfect!
Also on both occasions, Mr John Bishop came to our table to make a birthday and graduation wish. This little gesture meant so much!!!!
The restaurant is on the smaller side, which is nice. You should make a reservation and find out where the best place to park is located.
You cannot go wrong eating here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decades of Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been dining at Bishops for over 30 years. Our second time we went six months later we were greeted at the door by name and the staff remembered that my son would want a carafe of coke. Detail! Everything is fine tuned from impeccable service to exquisite food. John always visits each table and the attention is never forced. You are part of his family when dining at his table. Sadly I now reside in Australia and my visits to my favourite restaurant in the world are too far between.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Previous reviewers give good advice -- excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For our first time in Vancouver we followed prior generally excellent Trip Advisor recommendations to give this restaurant a try.....and were not disappointed. Table service was excellent. Appetizers, and entrees our group of 4 adults chose were memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lost its focus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bishops has long been one of Vancouvers best restaurants. Lately is has lost its creativity.
The food is fine, but down from what it has been. Staff are very pleasant and service is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishop's also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bishop's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.