We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unobtrusive service, clean, centrally located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loden Hotel to your Saves list
Loden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Escape
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unobtrusive service, clean, centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel is relatively new so there are a few kinks that still need to be worked out...the disconnect on rates among the website, the reservation desk, and the front desk was extremely irritating - initially booked online 2 months out, 3 weeks before, I checked rates on line and they were cheaper. I called the reservation line to have them switch me to the new rate, they transferred me to the front desk, the front desk couldn't find the rate, and so on and so on. I spent about 20 minutes going around in circles on this. Was finally assured the online rate. But when I checked out, they had me at a higher rate than either of the ones I had booked!!! They definintely need to pull it together. Also, on arrival, upon inquiring about the possibility of rain, one of the front desk staff quipped that if we wanted nice weather "we should have stayed in San Francisco"!!! Other than those issues, as far as the hotel itself, I liked the spa like boutique-y feel, the bath products were spectacular, the bed was very comfortable, and the 2x day room service was spoiling! I may try somewhere else the next time though - possibly the Shangra La.

One other thing is - why charge $20/day for wireless internet. Seems like a silly nickle and diming on a $300+ room

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    208
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
135
690
117
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Its a modern hotel, close to everything. The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The facility is beautiful. I upgraded to a Park View room and had walls of windows on 2 sides. Very chic furnishings. The bathroom was incredible. Deep soaking tub, large separate shower, large separate commode with glass doors that opened in either direction Everything was very nice.

What truly set this hotel apart was it's customer service. I checked in after a cruise with my 2 suitcases and after the woman at the desk had registered me, and reserved a ferry trip for me to Vancouver, she came from behind the desk, took one of my suitcases and went up the elevator with me to my room and showed me around. How nice!

Staff was always helpful and unfailingly eager to please. I ordered room service breakfast one morning and the woman who brought it asked how I had slept. I answered that not too well, since my alarm went off (I had intended to sleep in) and then after falling back to sleep, the doorbell had rung. (no tacky pounding on your door here). She apologized immediately and I quickly reassured her, that it was not her fault. I didn't set the alarm correctly, and I didn't turn on the privacy light. She said she would let the front desk know. I told her again that it was my own fault, not the hotel. She left and I ate my excellent breakfast (free range scrambled eggs -bright yellow, hotel cured bacon, fresh sqeezed grapefruit juice, and a pot of coffee, then went out for the day. when I returned there was a lovely plate of a half dozen very gourmet chocolates resting in a bed of cocoa nibs with a note of apology directed to me by name. And it wasn't even their fault!!

That is just one example. They helped me with anything I needed help with, and with the most wonderful attitude.

They also had a FREE computer with internet - a pleasant change after paying $.75/minute on my cruise ship! They also had a MAC room that I just peeked into. I had brought some DVDs and they brought a player to my room for me.

Just wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We were very impressed with this hotel from the minute we arrived and were greeted by the valet. Then when we entered the lobby, wow! Very stylish décor. The front desk staff were simply awesome and genuinely friendly. Service was all around excellent. The room was another wow! Impressive, stylish décor, huge bathroom, tons of closet space, and the bed and linens were the best we have had in a long time. All of the staff always greeted us by name, even the housekeeper! Excellent views of the city and waterfront. While we didn’t get a chance to dine in the restaurant, the bar and restaurant looked very impressive. Location is excellent, within easy walking distance to shopping and site seeing. We never used our car or a taxi. Didn’t need it. This place has it’s act together and is truly a gem in Vancouver. Highly recommended. Our teenager wants to move into the hotel as a permanent guest.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

"bmeeder" review below from Sept 17, 2009 captured it all. Rather than repeat things in the other reviews the only thing i will add is that the rooms are very soundproof. You will have a great sleep with no city noise or noise from the hallway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Great value on a luxurious, trendy hotel in downtown Vancouver. Great Staff, Good value. Go to thier website for discounts

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel was pretty amazing. The room was great. The bed was extremely comfortable. I loved the large TV . We had a Park Vista room so we had a partial view of the mountains and harbor. I thought the location was great. Pretty much close to everything. I do have two negative comments. The wireless internet is not free. Most 4 star hotels provide free wireless. Second, we had a slight issue with our bill and the person checking us was not accomodating at first.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your urban escape. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, we welcome you to your second home where you can feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Let us take care of you. Enjoy our free Loden Hotel App...your guide to Vancouver in your pocket! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.