We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Cannot Do Better In Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loden Hotel to your Saves list
Loden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Revival Promotion
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“You Cannot Do Better In Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent three nights in a Park Vista room during our first visit to Vancouver and could not imagine a better hotel in the city - if not the entire country. I generally do 20-25 trips a year between work and leisure and prefer the mod boutique any time I can get it. Kimpton, Ace, The James. Love, love, love them.

Put the Loden at the top of the list. It has EVERYTHING, including the intangibles where many of the best are hit-and-miss.

Tastefully designed, welcoming lobby - check

Beautiful modern rooms. White glove clean. Every amenity, including soaking salts for the bath, #mustdo And, no wasted space. A most comfy bed, big work desk and a plush chair to take in the views.

A real gym. Ever fooled by the perfectly angled photo of the mirrored wall, only to walk into a room slightly larger than a water closet? It's OK to admit it, but toss those worries out the window, my friend. Huge gym area. 1000 square feet? Cardio machines (all working), yoga mats, machine and free weights, boxing gear, you name it. Plus, there are trainers on hand and you can look into the lovely gardens or the city while doing your thing.
There is a full service spa too. (didn't need after the soaking tub episode)

A restaurant, you ask? How about one of the best in the city? Tableau. Filled each night and at brunches. We particularly liked the bar. Attentive, entertaining bartenders who are proud of the craft. Original cocktails that match the best in NYC. We could have sat there all night. #bestnegroni

The service. Truly exceptional. Every single person we encountered was a sterling example of Canadian politeness and courtesy. It was like every employee was a concierge. Ask anyone a question and you will receive a well thought out response.

Finally, the little things. Taking cruiser bikes along the water and around the park is a great way to soak up Vancouver. The Loden saves you the hassle of hunting down decent bike to rent for $30/day and provides free cruisers. Helmet included! We took advantage of the super stylish LTI Loden shuttle on a couple of occasions. Free rides anywhere downtown any time you need - and driven by the coolest "cabbies" anywhere.

One last comment, we visited our 2nd choice, a high-rise five-star hotel in Coal Harbor, to see what we might have "missed". We fought through all of the noise and frenetic activity only to quickly sense the overwhelming air of pretentiousness. Felt like NYC. We felt a sense of pride with our choice as we walked back to the Loden. It felt like returning home. Comfortable, peaceful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Park Vista room is worth the upgrade - mountain view from one window and the marina from another
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    222
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
147
738
119
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We attended a wedding in the penthouse suite, to put it midly.

The staff made it feel like a luxury home wedding. The servers, bartender even the dapper security were professional, descreet and amiable.

For reasons not to be fully shared, we needed a room for the evening (ok it was 23:30, and we needed to not drive!). The staff quickly found us a room, sent up some toothbrushes and we were set.

I am looking forward to a non wedding evening at the Lodel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just spent three nights at The Loden and will no doubt stay again when in Vancouver next time. We paid for a Garden Terrace room which was lovely and worth the extra cash even though it rained half the time we were there. The location felt a bit business like but it's such a walkable city it did not matter. If you're looking for a small hotel that's different from the cookie cutter giants, book the Loden and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden Terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a great experience!! We travel often and stay in many different types of hotels. This hotel is now one of our favorite hotels in the world. The service was incredible. The location was near the water and an easy walk to many of the top attractions. I will recommend this boutique hotel to anyone traveling to Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for two nights. Wonderful city with clean air and good food. Great bed, clean bathroom and very nice breakfast. Very helpful staff. Good for business and pleasure. Great location for access to city and parks.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great boutique hotel by Coal Harbor. Stayed for a weekend and business meetings. Cool rooms with the usual modern amenities. Service was friendly and efficient. Nice work out room. Attached bistro restaurant that I didn't try but looked good. Central location for DT Vancouver . No complaints , highly recommend .

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved the room, the price, the reasonable room service rates, great facilities, the absence of drip charging so common in hotels, friendly staff, good room size. Thanks for everything, including the complementary honeymoon bpttle of wine!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your urban escape. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, we welcome you to your second home where you can feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Let us take care of you. Enjoy our free Loden Hotel App...your guide to Vancouver in your pocket! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.