We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Loden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loden Hotel to your Saves list
Loden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Escape
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Kiama, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Loden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at this hotel - it was hard to leave. Everything about it is great. Lovely floor to ceiling windows, with an opening window, comfortable bed, and beautifully designed bathroom with bath and separate shower. Luxurious Molton Brown toiletries provided. The free Wi-Fi in room was appreciated, as was the sparkling water and nuts. The location is close to the waterfront, a great supermarket is nearby (Urban Fare) and we loved our complimentary transport to the cruise ship in the Loden's London cab. Next time we will linger longer here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    208
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
135
689
117
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since there are 1,000+ reviews, I'll essentialize. The location is an excellent starting point for interesting walks to attractions or to interesting areas. We walked to Chinatown, the Coal Harbor waterfront, and even Stanley Park wasn't too far. The staff was extremely helpful, making restaurant recommendations that did not let down, offering an extended late check-out to accommodate our train, and drove us to the station gratis. In sum, everything you would expect from a classic full service hotel. All this while having funky decor (crazy cool faucets!) and comfortable besides. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for wider city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The other reviews are right - this is a beautiful hotel with top-notch service.

All I will add is that they were accommodating with our almost-one-year-old. Provided a pack-and-play with blankets. Valet service was prompt (for picking up the car - when I dropped it off, several times I had to just park in front of the hotel and give my keys to the front desk because there was no valet outside). The staff was very friendly as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was our first trip to Vancouver and we were not sure where to stay! We got lucky and found The Loden Hotel by reading trip advisor. It is in the perfect location, close to the waterfront but quiet for a city location. Nice clean rooms with the most comfortable beds, great coffee in the lobby in the morning as I discovered on my way to starbucks. The staff were so friendly and very helpful. We felt they were very personable. Adrian, the manager, kept our car out front after checkout as we ran to do an errand. We will definitely plan another trip here. There is also a small restaurant next door which we did not try but it looked appetizing and there were a number of customers. Next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arrived on a lazy, cool Saturday morning after an 18 hour journey from Manila to Canada. Our driver told us that we were right smack in the heart of an area tucked in the heart of the shopping and tourist district. When we arrived at the Loden, our room was ready. And I don't regret getting the Park Vista room where the alternating views of the mountain and the lake nipped me to fall in love with the place. The double floor to ceiling glass walls was a sight to behold. The bathroom had a sunken bath with separate closets for a shower and urinals. The Molton Brown bath accessories provided a nice touch as well. Breakfast was healthy and not in your face type of buffet. And the Avis rent-a-car is just at the back if you wanted to go out of town as it was a weekend and shops close super early in laid back Vancouver. Or get to ride on a bike (which was free of charge) and go around Stanley Park. Any which way you chose to spend the weekend was like being nestled away in dreamland with the view of enchanting Vancouver from your room.

Room Tip: TIP: This hotel is a short distant walk from all the other foodies in the area - about 2-3 blocks ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

After 15 hrs in a plane from Australia and only a few days in Vancouver before we set off on our BC adventure, we needed a place to recover yet close to things happening in downtown Vancouver. The Loden offered and delivered, with location, helpful and friendly service. Being a smaller hotel the feel was more intimate and relaxed. Well done Loden see you in 4 weeks when we stay again before leaving for home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your urban escape. Whether traveling on business or for pleasure, we welcome you to your second home where you can feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Let us take care of you. Enjoy our free Loden Hotel App...your guide to Vancouver in your pocket! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.