We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My poor feet!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granville House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granville House B&B to your Saves list
Granville House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My poor feet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Granville House B&B on a loop tour of the Pacific Northwest. A few things that we did not particularly enjoy were the "shoes off" policy which we found odd (there's a dog in the house) and inconvenient. In addition the house is also located on a very busy street. Our room was on the street side and it was extremely noisy. It was also quite warm in our room and the home does not have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side of the house! It's very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranvilleBB, Owner at Granville House B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We take to local custom in our home and ask our guests to remove their shoes inside (listed on our website). We can have rain in Vancouver and our thick white wool carpets appreciate this feature, and it also provides a quiet atmosphere for all guests. Slippers are provided.
The guest area is guaranteed pet free and free of allergens. The guests did meet our resident non-shedding poodle due to walking into our private living space instead of using the front guest entrance. We have since marked this door more clearly to avoid this.
We have central air-conditioning in our home (a rarity in Vancouver, summer temperatures range from 12C - 22C (53F - 71F). We enter guests rooms each day when cleaning to draw the blinds and curtains in the afternoon to keep the West facing rooms cool from the afternoon sunshine. We were unable to do this in this case due to a do not disturb sign. With the windows open in this room the A/C was not able to function properly to cool.
Again, I apologize for your experience and I really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    19
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
83
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Granville House was our first stop on a 10 day Western Canada self drive tour. We arrived in Vancouver early in the morning and were able to drop off our bags and leave our vehicle at the B&B long before check-in so we could take the conveniently located public transit downtown. The accommodation was beautiful and our hosts, Pam & Randy, and their staff were very helpful in providing great travel tips. The breakfasts were wonderful. We stayed 2 nights and would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back of the house away from busy Granville St which runs in front of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Vancouver, and we stayed 2 nights prior to a cruise. We arrived quite late due to a late and delayed flight, so the room codes were helpful. My only complaint was how dark the road was, and how hard of a time we had finding the place. We circled the same few houses at least 3 times trying to read house numbers in the dark. This is really no fault to the B&B, but I wish the sign had been lit or possibly in front of the house. We thought maybe a lit sign was not allowed due to some ordinance, but if at all possible it would be very helpful to newcomers.

Despite our frustrating start, we found the place very lovely. The bedsheets had to be the softest I've ever felt, and the bed was fine. It was cozy, if not a bit warm the first night. Luckily I'm cold natured, but I could see how this could be a problem for people who get hot easily. The ceiling fan was a lifesaver. The second night was much cooler, so I suppose another guest had said something about the temperature. Overall we were very comfortable.

Breakfast was amazing. This, of course, is coming from someone who eats ordinary cereal every morning. I did have some granola, but also a wonderful egg white frittata with goat cheese and peppers, and a banana muffin. This first breakfast was one of my favorite meals of the whole vacation (cruise included). The second breakfast was also good, but we missed the banana muffins this time.

The hosts were friendly, but not overwhelmingly chatty. This was our first B&B experience, so I wasn't sure what to expect. If you are shy by nature as I am, you will not feel pressured to chat too much.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. It wasn't too far from town, and we enjoyed trying out the B&B experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Sept 2013. First visit to Vancouver.
This proved to be an excellent choice for us. The location on the #10 bus route to downtown via the Granville Island area was exactly what we wanted. Parking is available at the rear of the property.
This is a very attractive older house that has been renovated to perfection. The rooms are spacious, and luxuriously furnished, with great attention to detail.
Pam and Randy were very friendly and helpful and had lots of good suggestions regarding restaurants and places to visit. An initial problem was appropriately dealt with.
Breakfast was excellent , with good , high quality choices including hot oatmeal available from 5am and a hot entree served at 8.15am.
Perhaps I would say that this is more a boutique hotel than a B&B

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter. Granville Road is a very busy one, and road noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hard to give this a star-rating because some aspects were superb and others slightly odd. Lovely room, spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. Good breakfasts. Quite expensive, but so is everything in Vancouver. Why surreal? - we had to let ourselves in on arrival: being jet-lagged human contact would have been welcome! And we never met the hosts during our two-day visit, only serving staff at breakfast time. Access isn't off Granville Street but a service road at the back, which we hadn't been told. Granville St is a main thoroughfare into Vancouver with traffic noise 24x7 (not just during rush hours as another reviewer has implied - or maybe he was luckier than us.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed the room and the hospitality Pam provided. She is so cheery and very Green minded. Modern rooms in a large home close to parks and not far from Grandville Island. Eggs for breakfast were scrumptious blend of puffy egges with crab and cheese. Close to the road so noisy during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son was getting married and the bride's parents and wedding location were situated very close to the B&B. We reserved all five rooms for family members for two nights and this worked very well for all. The rooms were very comfortable, nicely appointed and just right for the locale and event. It was great to have the space and comfort to gather and visit during the wedding preparations. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was self-serve buffet with a good assortment of items including one cooked item each morning. Easy parking behind the building once you get your bearings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#17 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Fairview
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#44 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
West End Guest House
#1 of 63 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
English Bay Inn
#3 of 63 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.