We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pre-cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granville House B&B

Save Saved
You added Granville House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granville House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Late Summer Bookings
Ranked #20 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Vancouver, and we stayed 2 nights prior to a cruise. We arrived quite late due to a late and delayed flight, so the room codes were helpful. My only complaint was how dark the road was, and how hard of a time we had finding the place. We circled the same few houses at least 3 times trying to read house numbers in the dark. This is really no fault to the B&B, but I wish the sign had been lit or possibly in front of the house. We thought maybe a lit sign was not allowed due to some ordinance, but if at all possible it would be very helpful to newcomers.

Despite our frustrating start, we found the place very lovely. The bedsheets had to be the softest I've ever felt, and the bed was fine. It was cozy, if not a bit warm the first night. Luckily I'm cold natured, but I could see how this could be a problem for people who get hot easily. The ceiling fan was a lifesaver. The second night was much cooler, so I suppose another guest had said something about the temperature. Overall we were very comfortable.

Breakfast was amazing. This, of course, is coming from someone who eats ordinary cereal every morning. I did have some granola, but also a wonderful egg white frittata with goat cheese and peppers, and a banana muffin. This first breakfast was one of my favorite meals of the whole vacation (cruise included). The second breakfast was also good, but we missed the banana muffins this time.

The hosts were friendly, but not overwhelmingly chatty. This was our first B&B experience, so I wasn't sure what to expect. If you are shy by nature as I am, you will not feel pressured to chat too much.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. It wasn't too far from town, and we enjoyed trying out the B&B experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
79
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Sept 2013. First visit to Vancouver.
This proved to be an excellent choice for us. The location on the #10 bus route to downtown via the Granville Island area was exactly what we wanted. Parking is available at the rear of the property.
This is a very attractive older house that has been renovated to perfection. The rooms are spacious, and luxuriously furnished, with great attention to detail.
Pam and Randy were very friendly and helpful and had lots of good suggestions regarding restaurants and places to visit. An initial problem was appropriately dealt with.
Breakfast was excellent , with good , high quality choices including hot oatmeal available from 5am and a hot entree served at 8.15am.
Perhaps I would say that this is more a boutique hotel than a B&B

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter. Granville Road is a very busy one, and road noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hard to give this a star-rating because some aspects were superb and others slightly odd. Lovely room, spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. Good breakfasts. Quite expensive, but so is everything in Vancouver. Why surreal? - we had to let ourselves in on arrival: being jet-lagged human contact would have been welcome! And we never met the hosts during our two-day visit, only serving staff at breakfast time. Access isn't off Granville Street but a service road at the back, which we hadn't been told. Granville St is a main thoroughfare into Vancouver with traffic noise 24x7 (not just during rush hours as another reviewer has implied - or maybe he was luckier than us.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed the room and the hospitality Pam provided. She is so cheery and very Green minded. Modern rooms in a large home close to parks and not far from Grandville Island. Eggs for breakfast were scrumptious blend of puffy egges with crab and cheese. Close to the road so noisy during rush hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son was getting married and the bride's parents and wedding location were situated very close to the B&B. We reserved all five rooms for family members for two nights and this worked very well for all. The rooms were very comfortable, nicely appointed and just right for the locale and event. It was great to have the space and comfort to gather and visit during the wedding preparations. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was self-serve buffet with a good assortment of items including one cooked item each morning. Easy parking behind the building once you get your bearings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca;gary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is is a good one for access to the west side and downtown. The breakfasts are very good and the staff and owners are friendly, perhaps too much so if you prefer to eat your breakfast and read the paper. The road noise from Granville is loud and constant; it is a main and well-used thoroughfare. This means that your windows will very likely be closed at night and the AC will be on, or you will be wearing earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Granville House after taking a 7-day Alaskan cruise. Our friends who found Granville were the B&B goers. Our cruise arrived early on Saturday morning so we arrived at 10:30. We had to make one trip around the place because Granville Ave. is a very busy street and house numbers were difficult to read. One of the staff, Shandy, took our luggage and offered us a couple of bus passes to get into town while they prepared our room. Shandy also offered some suggestions of where to go and what to do do since this was our first visit to Vancouver. We were very grateful. We did some sightseeing and got back around 6:00 p.m. Keypad door entry was fantastic. The room was next to the front door and faced Granville so was a little noisy, but ultimately did not stop us from sleeping like logs. (Earplugs were also in the night stand just in case) Room was spacious with a couch at one end, king-sized bed, desk and chair and a beautiful bathroom. The house was immaculate! Slippers were available if needed since there was a no shoe policy. Now for the best part! Breakfast the next day was ready right on time. We had an egg-white frittata, yogurt, steel-cut homemade oatmeal, toast, three varieties of cold cereal and coffee, tea and orange juice. Randy came out to greet us and offered yet more points of interest. Unfortunately we left early the next day, but all except the main hot entree was available before we left. Great job by all involved.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Bed And Breakfast
Granville House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.