We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Granville House B&B

Save Saved
You added Granville House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Granville House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Late Summer Bookings
Ranked #20 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Ca;gary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is is a good one for access to the west side and downtown. The breakfasts are very good and the staff and owners are friendly, perhaps too much so if you prefer to eat your breakfast and read the paper. The road noise from Granville is loud and constant; it is a main and well-used thoroughfare. This means that your windows will very likely be closed at night and the AC will be on, or you will be wearing earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
80
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Granville House after taking a 7-day Alaskan cruise. Our friends who found Granville were the B&B goers. Our cruise arrived early on Saturday morning so we arrived at 10:30. We had to make one trip around the place because Granville Ave. is a very busy street and house numbers were difficult to read. One of the staff, Shandy, took our luggage and offered us a couple of bus passes to get into town while they prepared our room. Shandy also offered some suggestions of where to go and what to do do since this was our first visit to Vancouver. We were very grateful. We did some sightseeing and got back around 6:00 p.m. Keypad door entry was fantastic. The room was next to the front door and faced Granville so was a little noisy, but ultimately did not stop us from sleeping like logs. (Earplugs were also in the night stand just in case) Room was spacious with a couch at one end, king-sized bed, desk and chair and a beautiful bathroom. The house was immaculate! Slippers were available if needed since there was a no shoe policy. Now for the best part! Breakfast the next day was ready right on time. We had an egg-white frittata, yogurt, steel-cut homemade oatmeal, toast, three varieties of cold cereal and coffee, tea and orange juice. Randy came out to greet us and offered yet more points of interest. Unfortunately we left early the next day, but all except the main hot entree was available before we left. Great job by all involved.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Granville House for 2 weeks in May 2013. It was our first visit to Vancouver to visit our daughter & son-in-law for the imminent birth of their first baby. Granville House was chosen for its close proximity to both their house and the maternity hospital. It was easy to find and the bus stop for downtown was only 2 minutes walk away. Our room and the communal areas were airy, very well-appointed and spotlessly clean. Pam and Randy, the owners, and all the staff were courteous, friendly and most helpful. On hearing of the safe arrival of our new grandson they all seemed genuinely to share our excitement. We cannot fault the time we spent there. In a nutshell, we had a fantastic stay and we shall be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The House is spotless, owners have a no shoes policy so pack slippers. Room was nicely appointed, bed comfortable and bathroom spacious, in room coffee machine was provided but I wish they had put regular milk in the fridge instead of the awful powder synthetic creamer.The air-conditioning situation left a lot to be desired, granted there was an unusual heatwave while we were there but not much was done to cool the room down, we opened the window and kept the ceiling fan on full speed. The main road is busy so our last night was not comfortable due to heat and outside noise. The surrounding area was lovely and convenient to downtown. We also had difficulty locating the house as the front is covered by a tall hedge which blocks the number.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed one evening at the Granville House B&B and were very satisfied. It is very secure in a residential neighborhood right on one of the main bus routes. Everything was very clean -- it is a "no shoes on" house, which is fine with me, since everything was spotless. It was a little different since when I called I booked through an agency, but when we arrived and had some questions, the phone was answered by the proprietor/staff and we were pleased with the information and help provided. It turned out to be a very convenient location because of the bus line accessibility (approximately every 10 minutes) and approximately a 15 minute ride to Gastown and the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here as we had an early morning appointment at the nearby hospital and didn't want to have to drive into the city during rush hour traffic. Finding the b&b was a challenge as we couldn't see any obvious signage at the front (other than the street number). Secondly, we then had to find the parking, which is in a narrow alley at the rear of the building. It's the first time i've ever stayed at any accomodation where there is no-one there to welcome you. It seems very impersonal. Once in through the door, the next challenge was to find out where our room was...
Our room was at the rear of the building. It was very nicely and luxuriously appointed, although very warm (even in March). We couldn't find any way to make the room cooler, other than to leave the windows open. This was not an option at night for 2 reasons: the road is very busy and there is lots of traffic noise, and there are no screens on the windows (I have a huge moth phobia and will not sleep with open windows without screens). The bed was very comfortable but I barely slept due to the room being too hot and stuffy.
The bathroom was very nice, although didn't look quite finished as there appeared to be a missing baseboard. For the money paid, I expected to have individual toiletries, but instead there was a large dispenser containing shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. I didn't use any of them as I have allergies to some ingredients and there was no ingredient list to see what was in any of the products.
We met the host as we had breakfast the next morning - she seemed very nice and welcoming. We had left a note to say we would be leaving early (before the hot buffet was served), and she had very kindly prepared a hot breakfast for us ahead of time. This was a very nice touch, and appreciated, even though the dish was something I didn't like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Comfy bed, nice bathroom, friendly staff, central location, great neighborhood, quiet. Randy was quick with recommendations and advice. Allowed us to leave luggage when we got in early and caught a later flight. No shoes policy FYI. Very clean and felt like home.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Bed And Breakfast
Granville House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.