We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Granville House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granville House B&B to your Saves list
Granville House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Granville House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was so impressed with Granville House when I stayed there a year ago that when I returned to Vancouver it was my first choice, and I was delighted again.

The Vogel's have created a truly first class, well thought out guest house. I can't really think of anything I'd change. I was in Vancouver to visit the office of Drs. Alastair and Jean Carruthers & Dr. Shannon Humprhrey. I suggested to their staff that they recommend Granville House to out-of-town visitors.

In addition, Granville House is on a very nice part of Granville St. [which is the road in from the Vancouver Airport] so 5050 Granville is easy to find. Because the surrounding districts and parks are very nice I enjoyed walking rather than driving to some places.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms I have had were equally delightful, one was at the front and the other was upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    19
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
83
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My first impression arriving at the guest house was not to good, being on the busy Granville street. They however have very good free parking in the ally round the back. Access into the house and room by code is easy and works well. The room was luxurious and cosy with everything that you can expect from a 5 star B & B. There is a kingsize bed with a very good matress and the linnen surprisingly soft and silky. Good aircon with extra blankets if needed.

Bathroom is well equiped with strong water in the shower and nice soft and thick towels.

Our first breakfast at the guesthouse was ok, although nothing special with a very sweet frenchtoast dish. Sunday morning was disappointing with stale croissants and milk that was slightly off.

The manager was very friendly and accommodating and we toroughly enjoyed our stay.
We will definitly recommend this guesthouse to friends travelling to Vancouver.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Pam and Randy Vogel are great hosts in Vancouver. My husband and I were on a pre Thanksgiving tour of Vancouver, Vancouver Island and Olympic Peninsula, and we stayed our first night here at the Granville B&B. It is centrally located in many ways and was easy to find.
Beside the fact that we began our visit with a small injury to my husband's nose while opening the trunk in the pouring rain upon arrival, I was immediately put at ease by Randy and Pam who could not do enough to be sure he was ok. They provided all we needed promptly and with kindness. That was only the beginning of the excellent care and attention we received from these lovely hosts. Our room was on the entry level of the house, and considering we were on the street side of the house, and first floor, it was a quiet and peaceful space. Our room was beautifully appointed, and had a king size bed that had the most amazing quality bedding. Seriously, the bed and linens were wonderful, and the quality of air in the room reminded us of staying at the Ritz Carlton, where they use special air treatments. There was a fully equipped bath, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and sitting area with desk that more than met our needs. Randy spent ample with us reviewing the area and restaurants according to our tastes. Pam was very welcoming at breakfast, and we were served a spectacular local crab quiche/souffle. We will most definitely come again and recommend the Granville to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Granville House at the begining of October when the weather was quite inclement. Our hosts Randy and Pam were exremely helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do to make our stay more enjoyable despite the rain. The house itself was very comfortable with large rooms that contained all the extras that you would expect in a much more expensive hotel. It was our first time in Vancouver and if we returned to see more of the sights that we missed due to the weather then we would have no hesitation in returning to the Granville House B&B for our stay. Good Value, Friendly Staff and Good Location too (just a quick bus ride from almost outside the door to get to the city centre if you don't have your own transport) - what more could you ask for.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In June 2012, we stayed four nights at the Granville B&B, a comfortable, clean older but freshly remodeled house right on Granville Street and half a block to the nearest bus line leading straight to downtown Vancouver. This was our first experience with a B&B and we found our hosts Pamela and Randy incredibly friendly and helpful from reservation to check-out. On our first and last nights, we ate at Caffe Barney’s on Granville around 14th street or so, and had surprisingly good meals at surprisingly reasonable prices. Thank you Pam & Randy for the suggestion. Thank you also for the free parking!

The Granville B&B staff were also very friendly and helpful: Shandy was a wealth of knowledge, and Leikka went out of her way to accommodate our dietary needs with each breakfast entree. For us, the entrees were adequate in flavor (although no added salt), but they were insufficient for our paleo eating habits, meaning that since we don't eat sweet foods like the muffins, cereals, and fruit offered we were left wanting for an adequate breakfast and required either an early lunch or a second breakfast out. However, as we know we have an uncommon diet, we were not expecting to be catered to. Therefore, we did appreciate the effort to adjust the ingredients in our entrees! I’m just mentioning this for any other paleo eaters, to keep in mind there is a refrigerator in the bedroom!

Upstairs, are four rooms, each with its door at one of the four corners of the house, so you never feel too close to your neighbor. Although, with the dense carpeting and solid walls, we would never have guessed that the other rooms were occupied. This is not a party house. Our room was the Dogwood, boasting a king-size bed with quality bedding, a desk, TV, and ample room to move about. The bathroom was modern with double sinks, but limited counter space. We did have brief concern at check-in, regarding one of the faucets being non-operational, but it was repaired the next day. I think a lovely touch would be some sort of drying rack for hand washing. Silly me for not asking - I did learn as we were leaving, that we could have paid to run a load of laundry, so I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

Being at the front of the house, close to the 6-lane commuter Granville street, because of the traffic noise we could not fall asleep with the windows open, but instead needed to keep them closed with the air on. My stepmom stayed in the Birch at the back of the house and heard no street noise. Although the robes and slippers were a nice touch, the robe was shrunk and would have best fit a petitie woman. The mini-fridge in the closet was handy as was the mini safe. Probably the biggest disappointment for us (being computer nerds) was that the advertised free Wi-Fi did not work in our room, except for right by the door in the hallway, and it wasn’t much better downstairs in the main room. But, I am HAPPY TO REPORT that the owners have since dealt with the problem by installing repeaters on every level, so that should no longer be an issue for guests - yay! The most appreciated part of my stay was the bed!

As far as B&Bs go, we have no other reference, but aside from a few issues, overall it was a comfortable, clean, pleasant place to stay, and I would definitely consider staying here again, on our next trip to Vancouver. Thanks Pam and Randy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the house, away from street traffic: the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Granville House in September.
The plus:
-Cost is good value for money as Vancouver hotels seem quite expensive
-The accommodation is high end, spacious and comfortable.
-The hosts were very helpful at all times.
-Breakfast was very nice, please do specify to the staff if you don't require cooked breakfast as they cook "entrees" for everyone unless otherwise advised.
-Bus stop to town a few yards from the house ( B&B can provide you with the first bus ticket in exchange for 2 new ones once you have bought a carnet in town).
-Van Dusen gardens just around the corner
-Not far from the airport.

The minus:
-The house is situated on a 6 lane road, with constant traffic noise which means keeping the windows open if it's nice and warm outside won't be very pleasant.
Having said this the air conditioning system works perfectly well and silently...
Vancouver is a very compact and busy city, the town center is full of high rise building, so noise levels there would also be high.
-The only nice restaurant nearby are Truffles at Vandusen Gardens (5-10mn walk), otherwise Seasons in the Park (1/2 hr walk) a bit pricey but a great restaurant with a good menu and fantastic views of Vancouver.

Very good for a few days, would be great if it was a few streets away from that busy road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room was large and comfortable in this lovely old but beautifully detailed and furnished home.The private bathroom was huge--way bigger than ours at home. Lovely breakfast room with good hot and cold breakfasts (we were catered to very graciously and served special vegetarian omelets) and excellent coffee. We felt very welcome and at home. The only drawback is that the house fronts an extremely busy and constantly trafficked multi-lane road, so it was fortunate that parking was available in the alley behind. We were surprised at how quiet our room (at the back of the house) was given the busy road.

Room Tip: take a room in the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#17 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
Fairview
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#43 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mt. Pleasant
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
West End Guest House
#1 of 64 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.