We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Granville House B&B to your Saves list
Granville House B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Granville House was my first experience of a B&B as I have always preferred the more impersonal atmosphere of a hotel. I was pleasantly surprised! I liked the freedom to come and go that the key-code access offered us, loved the large comfortable bed with the luxury linen and choice of pillows. The bathroom was beautiful with plenty of room for personal toiletries and a window that opened! Although I really appreciated the air conditioning and ceiling fan, I was so happy to be able to open a window. It was great to find a fridge in the room (complete with bottled water which is another of my personal musts) and the large closet with a safe was very useful.
The house was beautifully clean and tastefully decorated and we were happy to observe the 'shoes off' policy - we don't wear shoes in our own home so would not expect to keep them on in someone elses!
We were visiting our daughter who lives within walking distance of Granville House B&B so the location was absolutely perfect but it would have been equally convenient for sightseeing in the city.
Our hosts were on holiday themselves for most of our eight night stay although we did meet Randy at breakfast on our last morning. However, the knowledegable Shandy and delightful Leica (apologies for the possible mis-spelling) took good care of us in their absence.
We have stayed at Granville's sister property, Hycroft, on a previous visit when we needed the flexibility that a self-catering suite offered and we would certainly stay at either property again.
Thank you for a very enjoyable and comfortable stay although, having read the rave reviews, we are very disappointed not to have experienced the 'dutch babies' at breakfast - maybe next time!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    19
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
81
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Granville House. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The premises are spotless. We stayed in the Birch suite and it was very comfortable and quiet. In fact, the bed was more comfortable than my bed at home! The breakfasts are fantastic whether you go for cooked or continental. The location is very convenient and the neighborhood is fun to walk around in. i would definitely stay here again and would recommend Granville House to anyone planning a trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are quieter than those at the front because Granville is a fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Vancouver!! Can't wait to return someday!! Very nice property with great service. Room was nice, clean, quiet. Loved all of the extra touches like slippers and robes, i-pod dock, bottled water in fridge, fresh cookies every afternoon. :-) Breakfast each morning was fantastic!! Love that the hosts are into healthy eating/living but also provide delicious food (I've become obsessed with steel cut oatmeal since staying here!). Bus stop is nearly right outside the front door and it is a straight shot into the city. Hosts were very helpful with recommendations (dining, things to do, etc.) and transportation questions. Cannot say enough good things about Granville House B&B! Thanks for a fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed at a lot of bed and breakfast establishments, but this was the best one so far in our far flung travels. We chose the junior suite to stay in because we liked the en suite bathroom best from the pictures. Both the bedroom and bathroom were great. The door code allowed for easy, secure in and out of the home. The shoes off policy was a little off putting at first, but considering their beautiful white carpeting throughout, it was certainly understandable. The owners were available but, at the same time unobtrusive. Breakfast was delicious with a different homemade entree each morning. The afternoon cookies we were always greeted with after a busy day out and about were greatly appreciated. If all bed and breakfast establishments were as beautiful, well maintained with great management I would never stay in a hotel again. Thank you so much for a great experience.

Room Tip: I think that the junior suite has the best bathroom, but that is just my assessment from the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Rely good BB, Good location, quiet rooms, silence on the East side a little less on the west side, Very nice Breakfast, Wi-fi free, really clean, The Boss give my a lot important informations on the area and the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked this at the last minute which is why we got a downstairs room at the front of the house right by a busy road. The personalised numbers we were sent in advance to open the door to the house and our room were useful but felt impersonal. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was odd, a long trough for the sink with nowhere to put the wash bags. The tiles on the shower seat were cracked and I did not want to sit down. The warning notices about being charged if a guest took the toiletries were a first - as was the $20 sticker on a guide book in the room. The room was not cheap but did include parking and breakfast. The breakfast included great porridge and a choice of herbal tea but no choice on the hot food - a ramekin with an omlette that was not that good. The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to see and how to get there. The shoes off policy would work better if there were slippers in each room with the robes. The cookies provided on arrival were a nice touch but much better would be milk in the fridge instead of being expected to put coffeemate into tea. All in all a pleasant stay but I would not rate it 5 stars.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the house should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this great B&B. The location is great and since parking is so expensive in Vancouver you can take a bus right outside and in 10 minutes you're in the heart of the city. The room was terrific with a great bed, pillows and bed linens which were top of the line. The bathroom was modern and sleek. Breakfast were wholesome and fresh, Shandy and Liku do a great job of running the B&B and were very helpful with ideas on what we should see and do when we were there. About 5 minutes by car there are great restaurants and shops to browse. Vancouver is a great place and if you get a chance go visit Whistler about 2 hours from the city with incredible scenery.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back garden which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville House B&B

Address: 5050 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 3B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's only 2011 Canada-Select 5 Star B&B! Built in 1997, this Shaughnessy mansion was renovated in 2007 to provide modern romantic luxury in Vancouver's wealthiest neighbourhood. We provide free on-site parking, WiFi, local & long distance calling. Time sensitive door codes provide hotel security & allow access convenient to you. All suites have king bed, 32" LCD TV with free HD programming and luxurious en-suite bathroom. Enjoy pressed linens, Hutterite down duvets and pillows. Room controlled Air Conditioning, fresh air exchange and heated floors. Deluxe breakfast buffet included, from 5-11am (hot dish served 8:30-10am). Vancouver's largest B&B breakfast area with 6 individual tables. Extremely central, on Granville Street (& 35th Ave), steps to transit, 5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Granville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville House Hotel Vancouver
Granville House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.